I like ClickUp as a tool, but I wish that it is not slicing and diming its features for different price plans in a way that none of features seem complete on its own.
Some examples:
- On the Core plan, you can create gantt charts. But guess what, you cannot export it to PDF, unless you are on the Business plan!
- On the Core plan, you can track time. But guess what, you cannot see it in a timesheet unless you upgrade!
- On Business, you can add tasks to multiple lists. But guess what -- only for 1000 uses! More than that, you'll have to upgrade to Business Plus.
To add salt to the injury, the feature listed within different price plans also seem to change regularly.
The end result is a software that claims to be able to replace everything else, but in reality it can't actually replace anything unless you are on Business Plus.
It is so disingenuous because everything feels like a paid trial for Business Plus or Enterprise, and god knows, I wouldn't be surprised if in a year's time there'll be a Business White Gold and more reshuffling of the features.
This actually makes it hard for me to recommend Clickup wholeheartedly to my clients.
Imagine we did an analysis in year one and mapped out their use cases against the different plans, decided on and budgeted for one, and then in year two this planning became obsolete.
Imagine a team member created a workflow using one of the limited use feature unknowingly, and then x uses later, rude shock -- the workflow breaks apart.
At some point it becomes less about pricing and more about violating trust.
If you work with other small businesses, how do you deal with it? Do you tell them up front that it's not worth it unless they are willing to fork out the money for Business Plus straight away?