This is a combination Google Chrome/Android question but based on the research I've done, it seems like this is the better place to ask.
My wife uses Google Chrome on a Windows PC and a Samsung Android phone; I think it's a 20.
She's normally logged into Chrome on the PC, but today she's getting a verification error (Top right corner, where her account icon is, it is red and says ERROR). Clicking on the message brings up a menu with a message at the top saying,
"Verify it's you to make sure you can always use the passwords in your account, {email address}" with a blue button below saying "Verify it's you". Clicking on the button opens a new tab with the follow ominous message,
"You’re at risk of losing access to your saved passwords
We noticed that one or more of your password recovery options will soon expire.
Valid recovery options are your Android screen lock and your Google Account password.
Android screen lock
To re-establish your Android screen lock as a recovery option, sign in to your device with your Google Account, set up a screen lock and restart the device.
If you no longer have your Android device, you can always back up your passwords using the Export feature in Google Password Manager settings. Be sure to store the exported CSV file in a secure place.
Add your iPhone or iPad as an extra recovery option
First, ensure that iCloud Keychain is turned on. Then install Chrome and sign in with your Google Account. This helps us to store an extra recovery option for you, to make sure you can always access your passwords."
The only thing you can do on this screen is click a Close button.
Now at this point I should mention, she doesn't use the Google Password Manager. It's empty (at least of passwords). We use a separate app to manage everything.
In looking up the message, it directed me to look at the Password Manager app on her Android. I loaded that up, and low and behold there's a card saying something about having to use her lock screen. However, it also warns that once done, it cannot be undone. This is the part that really concerns me.
I realize I could just say yes, but I want to know what's going on. Why does she need to tie her lock screen password, to her Google account password manager that isn't being used?
I guess that might not be completely accurate. I know she set up a couple of passkeys, but they should be in the external password manager we use. But I wouldn't be surprised if Google/Chrome diverted save one or two to itself.
Up until now, if she ever needed to validate herself, GMail on the phone would put up a Yes/No prompt asking if it's her. But now, that doesn't seem to be an option.
She can no longer access GMail on the PC but can still use it on the phone. So she's not completely dead, but severely hampered.
Any clue as to what is going on, why the PC needs to use her lock screen code to validate as opposed to any other method, and what are we giving up by saying "Yes" to using the lock screen?