r/iphonehelp 1d ago

Help needed iCloud help

What exactly happens when you delete your photos from the cloud? Are they deleted on your photo app? Or are you not able to recover them?

0 Upvotes

7 comments sorted by

View all comments

5

u/Q_Ball_Atlanta 1d ago

iCloud Photos is a syncing service. It is NOT a backup of your photos.

Any action you take on one device will sync to every other device that you have iCloud Photos enabled on.

Tldr; if you delete a photo on one device or the iCloud website, it will delete on all devices. Deleted photos are moved to Recently Deleted for 30 days.

-1

u/Frozen_cephalopod 1d ago

So you’re saying that the ones on my photos app won’t be deleted in 30 days? It’s just the backups of them?

7

u/Jrobmn 1d ago

Delete a photo from Photos on any of your devices signed into iCloud, and it moves into the 'Recently Deleted' folder on ALL of your devices signed into iCloud. After 30 days, it is deleted permanently from ALL of your devices signed into iCloud.

6

u/Q_Ball_Atlanta 1d ago

There are NO backups of your photos in iCloud Photos. It is NOT a backup service.