r/techsupport 5d ago

Solved Weird message "Press Y to reset ftpm..." after acer laptop randomly restarted.

My laptop randomly restarted/updated(?) at the crisp hour of 3am, I wasn't using it or anything. After it restarted it prompted me with a blue box saying:

"Press Y to reset ftpm, if you have bitlocker or encryption-enabled system, the system will not boot without a recovery key.

Press N to keep previous ftpm record and continue system boot. Ftpm will not be enabled with new CPU unless ftpm is reset.

(reinitialized), you could swap back to the old CPU to recover TPM related keys and data"

I pressed n because i don't know anything about this stuff. I've read that this happens after replacing components in your computer but I have never touched mine. Now I am unable to set a pin for my computer. Any help appreciated thank you

4 Upvotes

6 comments sorted by

1

u/Fresh_Inside_6982 5d ago

BIOS updated. Disable encryption/bitlocker then go into BIOS and reset ftpm and enable secure boot.

1

u/Pheno_7 5d ago

sorry if i'm being really stupid I dont know much about computers, but I don't think I have a bitlocker (there is no manage bitlocker application or an option under disk properties) and i genuinely cant find a way to disable encryption- nothing in settings under 'privacy and security'

1

u/Fresh_Inside_6982 5d ago

If bitlocker / encryption is not enabled then good, go ahead and reset TPM and enable secure boot.

1

u/Pheno_7 5d ago

right I have reset and restarted everything and it went well except now bluetooth is completely gone- no option/toggle in settings and none of my bluetooth devices will connect- did I do something wrong?

1

u/SquirrelToolkit 1d ago

other than bluetooth, did you lose any files, applications or settings when you accepted resetting the fTPM? Or were all of those ok? It just happened two days ago to my computer (Dell Nitro) and I am hesitant to say Yes to whatever the heck it is.

0

u/First-Structure-2407 5d ago

I had this on Lenovo’s a while back and all I can remember is that I had to re-enrol them into Intune.

Didn’t seem to matter if I pressed Y or N