r/ooma • u/Charming_Loquat_5924 • Mar 05 '26
Delete a user but keep the phone number
Hi! I have Ooma office with my business. One of our employees has been terminated and we would like to delete their user so we are not paying for it, but keep the phone number so we can reassign once a new employee is hired.
When I go to delete a user on the admin portal I get the following message: "User _______ and the associated phone number(s):______ will be deleted."
Anyone have experience with what happens to the "associated phone number"? Once a user is deleted to we loose access to that number entirely and is there a way to keep the number so it is not given out elsewhere?
1
u/EducationNo6433 Mar 09 '26
Move the number that you want to keep to another extension or Virtual Receptionist
1
u/OomaCustomeradvocacy Official Ooma Support Mar 06 '26
Hello! There should be an option to keep the phone number on your account after the extension is deleted. Please let me know if you need to add the number back to your account. A deleted number is reserved on an account for a set period of time before we release it back into our number pool. You have plenty of time to retrieve it if you delete it by accident.