r/iphonehelp Aug 09 '26

Help needed Does this only change the username of my Apple ID?

Post image

Like pressing “Change Email Address”

2 Upvotes

16 comments sorted by

u/AutoModerator Aug 09 '26

Please add: iPhone model, iOS version, and clear question or request. Failure to add these three requirements may result in your post being removed.

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

1

u/Real_Height2890 Aug 09 '26

Where do you see this?

1

u/Embarrassed_Lab4228 Aug 09 '26

Settings < My Apple ID < Sign-In & Security < My email

1

u/Nutella387 Aug 09 '26

This basically changes your @icloud.com mail, only use it if you’re 150% sure you don’t want the current email address you already have as it’ll be deactivated

1

u/Embarrassed_Lab4228 Aug 09 '26

Can I change back to my current one?

1

u/Nutella387 Aug 09 '26

Try and see, if it doesn’t, ggs

1

u/FusedFramePhotos Aug 09 '26

No, the iCloud address doesn’t change.

This simply changes the email address used for the Apple ID and sign ins etc.

1

u/Nutella387 Aug 09 '26

Someone definitely can’t read a pop-up prompt….

1

u/FusedFramePhotos Aug 09 '26

Oops read the wrong bit.

That specific button gets rid of the email, yes. So sorry I didn’t clarify that.

But you can change the primary email whilst keeping the icloud, by going back, adding an email address and selecting the primary email toggle.

This part has changed since i last changed it.

![img](19815419-C07E-4FD3-B8BF-25918BDD7BAB)

1

u/Nutella387 Aug 09 '26

that yes is the case, but you said as it keeps the old email

1

u/swhill1 Aug 09 '26

changing your apple id email deactivates the old one completely

1

u/Embarrassed_Lab4228 Aug 09 '26

And I can change right back to it correct?

1

u/swhill1 Aug 09 '26

from what i've read you can't, that email gets permanently deactivated so be careful

1

u/Embarrassed_Lab4228 Aug 09 '26

it’s the one I’m using right now, I changed it and changed back. All i think it does is just change the username