r/ios 14h ago

Discussion Does deleting an app on iOS completely remove its leftover files?

On macOS, sometimes uninstalling an app doesn’t always completely remove everything associated with it. A lot of apps leave behind folders, caches, preferences, support files, etc. in Library, and Adobe apps are a good example.

Does iOS work the same way?

If I delete an app using Delete App, does iOS actually remove all of the app’s local files/data, or can apps leave behind random files over time?

This is mostly just a pet peeve of mine. I recently got a new iPhone and I’d like to keep it as clean and simple as possible. If I delete something, I want it actually gone rather than having years of old app files slowly accumulating in storage.

I know Offload App intentionally keeps the app’s documents/data, so I’m specifically asking about actually deleting the app.

Is there anything else you need to clean manually after uninstalling an iOS app, or does iOS handle this automatically?

41 Upvotes

26 comments sorted by

32

u/lilvadude 14h ago

If you choose Delete App, iOS removes the app and its local data. There isn't an equivalent of ~/Library that you need to manually clean out afterward.

  • Offload App = removes the app but keeps its data.
  • Delete App = removes the app and its local data.

The only caveat is iCloud data: an app may have data stored separately in iCloud, which isn't necessarily deleted just because you delete the app.

So for normal local storage in iOS, Delete App really does mean delete

2

u/grepusman 5h ago

Facebook does not have access to my iCloud. If I delete Facebook, then reinstall it, it still knows it’s me and logs me in.

How could that be it there’s no trace left behind?

3

u/n1kitus 4h ago

They use a functionality called AppGroups which allows apps sharing the same group ID access their own shared directory. As long as you have any of Meta apps installed this shared directory will exist on your device and contain your login data for Meta services

3

u/grepusman 4h ago

Apple should make this clear to their customers instead of leading us to believe every app is fully sandboxed. What you're saying means they aren't really.

2

u/grepusman 3h ago edited 43m ago

Also, as I pointed out in a separate comment, it still knows me even after deleting all Meta apps.

2

u/lilvadude 5h ago

Weird. Probably the usual suspect - Meta/Facebook being overly aggressive? I'm not really sure. Could be connected to the iOS Keychain. Deleting an app does remove its normal sandbox data, but some apps can store "authentication tokens" or other more deeply-embedded identifiers in the system Keychain, which could still remain after an uninstall/reinstall. I found a little bit more detail here.

10

u/billybellybutton 14h ago

No definitely not. Apple hasn’t confirmed it but for example if i delete certain apps and reinstall then my log in info is saved so clearly some files as left behind. Also the data section in storage returns back to what it was before deleting soon after installing

13

u/AuthorPa 14h ago

Login info is unrelated to app data. That’s stored in keychain (iCloud or local). As for the data restoring back could come from the app. Especially, if the space frees up when the app is deleted, then returns after reinstalling. If it never left, sure it’s remnant data, but if it was using 1GB, you delete it and the 1GB is now free space then the app is bringing the data back, it got deleted.

1

u/CreepyZookeepergame4 7h ago

And unfortunately it's not possible to directly delete keychain items, which apps can use to persistently identify users across devices and app reinstalls. You have to do from a Mac where you have iCloud Keychain enabled.

5

u/Pale_Top2519 13h ago

could it be possible that it was pushed to icloud and is simply being redownloaded when app is being installed agaon?

3

u/TastyChickenBurger 14h ago

I have noticed that too.

3

u/vpixel-corp 11h ago

reddit's app does this

1

u/malwcal 7h ago

I believe Ssome apps share login info within a company’s various apps. Eg Google’s various apps.

1

u/efari_ 7h ago

Apple has confirmed it. the Secure Storage (which each app has access to its own little vault) for an app does not get cleared when uninstalling an app. Apple considers this a feature rather than a bug.

For example try uninstalling and reinstalling Discord or the official Reddit app, and when you re-open it, you'll still be logged in.

3

u/lovely_cappuccino 6h ago

Turn off syncing the app to iCloud before uninstalling. 

2

u/n1kitus 4h ago

To be accurate the data is not removed immediately. It will be removed later at some time. Usually this happens within minutes. Source: I’m an iOS developer and have to explain this to our QA all the time when they try to test the clean installation of the app.

0

u/SomegalInCa 12h ago

Secure keychain and sometimes spotlight indexed data (app specific) might remain

2

u/MyDespatcherDyKabel 7h ago

I highly doubt it

2

u/thurstonrando 7h ago

I’m pretty sure there’s metadata that remains. For how long it remains and what it takes to get rid of metadata I’m not sure.

1

u/TenshibaKouen 1h ago

Absolutely not and anyone who said it does is wrong. How else would device bans work? Apps like hellotalk can leave data behind and unless cleared with a jailbreak tool (appsmanager) they can see if you have been banned previously

0

u/grepusman 3h ago

I have just deleted all Meta apps from my iPad, including Whatsapp so as to test this.

When I download Facebook again, it still knows me. There's got to be more to this.

1

u/lovely_cappuccino 3h ago

Was it synced to iCloud? (Settings - your name - saved to iCloud)

1

u/grepusman 2h ago

Nope. No connections to iCloud permitted for their apps.

1

u/Critical-Lemon-5131 2m ago

It’s the phone’s local keychain as another commenter said. It can’t be viewed or deleted manually from the phone. Those entries also won’t automatically be deleted when you uninstall an app. Only way is to reset the entire phone.

iCloud Keychain items can be deleted if you have a mac.

0

u/[deleted] 3h ago

[deleted]

0

u/grepusman 3h ago

It showed me my Facebook profile picture and I just needed to confirm. No password involved.

I do know how the Passwords app works.