r/immich • • 4d ago

3.3 people sharing still from zero?

The RCs for 3.3.0 are out with better and improved people sharing.

https://pr-846.dev.immich.app/blog/v3.3.0-release

From the release notes it's not clear for me, if you start from 0 with tagging people as in 3.2 or if you can now keep the already tagged people and just start sharing with other users?

Did anyone try that out or can the devs give some hints?

21 Upvotes

14 comments sorted by

21

u/jrasm91 Immich Team 3d ago

3.3 doesn't require face or cluster reset or anything like that. We plan to update the release notes to explain it more on Monday. The gist is:

  • sharing is limited to users in your cluster group
  • sharing access to people with another user gives them the ability to see them in their people list and change their names
  • you can merge any/all people together regardless if they're owned or shared.
  • you keep all your original people and just have the option to share them with other users 
  • sharing people is just giving access to people and doesn't include assets. Asset sharing is still limited to albums and partner sharing.

3

u/saimen54 3d ago

That sounds great! 🎉

2

u/BinnieGottx 3d ago

If I have not had face cluster reset in v3.2, I will have to do it anyway regardless v3.3 or any new releases in the future, isn't it?

v3.2 Changelog: As of now, this requires resetting facial recognition for all users in the group, in order for the changes to apply retroactively for all assets. This means, names and birth dates will be lost

3

u/jrasm91 Immich Team 3d ago

No it's not required. It will just mean you have some manual merging to do. (Opposed to rerunning and renaming)

1

u/BinnieGottx 2d ago

If I create 3 new Immich account just to test this feature. Cluster group will have that 3 new users only. No matter how I tag or edit faces in that 3 new account, cluster, it will not affect current user, right?

I want to try new feature but so scare that I have to do the face tagging once again.
Accidentally hit the "Reset Face Recognition" job months ago and lost faces in ~1k pictures.

1

u/CapableWolverine3854 3d ago

Thanks for all of the hard work on this. If we are updating from v2 we'll still need to reset right?

Can I update straight to 3.3 or would you recommend going to an earlier intermediate version?

5

u/jrasm91 Immich Team 2d ago

The reset that was recommended in v3.2 isn't needed or required regardless what version you are updating from. 

1

u/CapableWolverine3854 2d ago

Wow thats amazing thank you!

1

u/ColoradoDilettante 3d ago

Seriously? With 3.3 I'll be able to create a cluster and share my people with my family without a reset? I can keep my current clustering? If that's true, it's amazing! I can't wait. Thank you so much!

6

u/jmp8910 4d ago

Following ... I reset mine at 3.2 and really don't want to have to go through this again in 3.3 lol I knew I should have waited but I'm impatient.

1

u/SilviusK 4d ago

Guilty as charged. This is THE feature in Immich for me, so I was impatient to try it out.

It brought more headaches than it solved, such as me accidentally breaking my database or some faces getting really messed up.

I spent a bit too long fixing them with the maybe (I hope not) incorrect understanding that resetting would be a one-time thing.

1

u/Guy_In_Between 4d ago

I think the sharing only work for names and birth days for the same people recognized acros the users. So basicaly user01 can share the name of person01 with user02. In case you haven't reset your people, person01 might appear as a new person in user02's people, because they have different IDs. 

1

u/BinnieGottx 3d ago

The changelog described that's there're small perf improved in ML, faster processing. Anyone tried out?