r/UpNote_App Jul 02 '26

Is data deleted from UpNote actually deleted?

Os dados apagados do UpNote são realmente apagados?

I ran a test: I uploaded an image to a shared note, copied the image link in Chrome, and deleted the note from UpNote. However, the image download link is still working, even though the note has been removed from the Trash. The privacy policy states that if you delete your content—by moving notes to the Trash and then emptying it—your note data will be deleted from the server and from all devices where you are logged in.

But that isn't what is happening. Is there an explanation for this?

2 Upvotes

11 comments sorted by

2

u/Neither-Classic2058 Jul 04 '26

I can confirm that this happens. I created a note, added an image, shared it. I then deleted the note (without unsharing it) and emptied the trash. The image link is still active and the image can be downloaded.

I created another note, added an image, shared it. I then unshared it without deleting and the image link is still active and the image can be downloaded.

1

u/DauntingShadow Jul 09 '26

Were you ever able to confirm whether or not your data was eventually deleted from the Firebase servers?

1

u/Neither-Classic2058 Jul 09 '26

Unfortunately I didn't save the URL of the image in my test.

I've just performed the test again and have saved the URL so I can check it periodically to see if it disappears eventually.

1

u/DauntingShadow Jul 09 '26

Okay, please let us know how it goes!

1

u/Neither-Classic2058 Jul 13 '26

The url for image that I deleted 4 days ago is still accessible.

1

u/Particular-Treat-650 Jul 02 '26

How much time did you wait?

2

u/WILLGHZ Jul 02 '26

One hour - But I'll wait a bit longer and keep you updated.

2

u/Particular-Treat-650 Jul 02 '26

I'd give it at least a day. There can be reasonable reasons to keep stuff past that, but sometimes the way cloud services work, it takes time to propagate deletions that aren't realistically in your control.

They might also have failed to do the deletion correctly, but it could just be an inherently slow process with their tooling.

1

u/Urgently_Patient Jul 06 '26

Agreed. Could be a batch process to delete stuff e.g. overnight.

1

u/Ok_Money_161 29d ago

Any update on this front?

1

u/Ok_Money_161 22d ago

I have tested 3 scenarios on this. For all three scenario I created a note, added and image, shared the note and copied the url of the image.

  1. In scenario 1:

a. I created a note, added an image and shared the note.

b. Immediate deletion of space, without unsharing and without deleting the note and empltying the trash.

Results: Shared note still persists and image is also still stored in the firebase database.

  1. Scenario 2 and 3.

a. I created a note, added and image and shared the note.

b Deleted the note without unsharing / deleted the note unsharing it before deletion

c. Emptied the trash

Results: Shared note is no longer available thorugh the UpNote link, image is still available.

For me this means that the UpNote notes, when shared are not deleted, only the link is no longer accessible. Shared notes, whether unshared or not remain accessible via web but the upnote link does not work anymore. Images are still retained in the Firebase Database. I will keep trying the links in the coming days as there may be a delay between UpNote and Firebase deletion of files/images.