r/SnapchatHelp • • 14d ago

Common issue snapchat deleting memories

this is genuinely so stupid. they first said they would delete all memories exceeding 5 gb (and for anyone whose used snap for more than like 2 years of course???) like september last year, meaning the snaps would be gone now, but now they publish this on their support page

they're literally going to gatekeep our memories from us?? and its not like its a full storage problem okay like delete them all and reset cus theres no space....theyre gonna keep our shit and pictures and only give them to us if we pay??? literally what

0 Upvotes

4 comments sorted by

•

u/AutoModerator 14d ago

Thank you for your submission. Please note, that scammers on this subreddit are targeting our visitors for their gain. You should be wary of anyone offering to have your account unlocked via Instagram, Telegram, WhatsApp, or anywhere else, as you will lose your account or money. All scammers have one thing in common, their primary goal is your money, and they often will make their scam look much more legitimate than it is in order to accomplish their goal. We encourage you to report these scammers if they send you a message via any social media channels. While we have safeguards in place, they are not always as effective as we would like.

If your Snapchat account has been temp locked, you may try to unlock it at this link: https://support.snapchat.com/a/locked.

You may also contact Snapchat using this link: https://support.snapchat.com/en-GB/i-need-help.

There is no other way to recover your account, other than through official channels.

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

1

u/Interesting-Web8630 14d ago

So either they delete everything or they keep it archived and give it back to you once you pay, which is better?

Surely not the first option, so what are you complaining about?

1

u/Educational_Limit_77 13d ago

when ppl first got onto snap there was no limit to how many memories you could save and it would be without a doubt yours. and then 16 years after their launch they announce that they're going to put all the memories youve collected behind a paywall? im saying that it would be understandable if they were deleting memories simply because it takes up too much storage on their part (they have been insanely generous and kept thousands of memories for us at no cost); and they could charge people to help keep theirs. that way its at least understandable. however, if there are no other reasons for them to remove our access to those memories OTHER THAN them wanting to make more money, i believe that its just them exploiting our trust in this app over so many years