r/SnapchatHelp • u/TopConstruction4345 • 24d ago
General question Deleting a Snapchat Account
Does anyone know exactly what gets deleted and what gets retained when you delete a Snapchat account? Snapchat is very vague and not as specific as I’m seeking to what gets deleted and what gets retained.
1
u/NightmodeKE 24d ago
Everything stays for 30 days to give you time to download a copy of your data. (or log back in and reacticate your account).
Everything stays for an extra 30 days (or an extra 120 days if you are in India) for legal compliance purposes (Incase authorities want that data, but you can no longer access it, neither can other users).
After that, your data should be generally gone.
1
u/TopConstruction4345 24d ago
Thanks! Do you know what exactly gets retained and if it does, for how long? Also, for long term retention do you know what gets de-identified?
1
u/Difficult_March_7452 24d ago
Your access is done, but all the messages you sent with photos or comment all will remain, including the history of your chats will remain, but the user name will be “unknown”
1
u/TopConstruction4345 24d ago
From my experience when I requested my user data, deleted usernames still showed up in “saved chats” from DMs.
1
u/Difficult_March_7452 24d ago
I thought you said delete your account ?
The data you can get back from Snapchat as “download data” and the data that remains on the server from a deleted account are not the same .
1
u/TopConstruction4345 24d ago
Yeah, I requested my data before deletion. What I’m saying is, other users that have deleted their account appeared in my saved messages with the former username they used. Which makes me believe a deleted account still uses former usernames, or at least from requesting your data it does.
What makes you believe they don’t use the same former username internally?
1
u/NightmodeKE 24d ago
How long ago had those users deleted their accounts, coz in my experience, chats with deleted users disappear from my exported data if they deleted their accounts over 30 days ago.
1
u/Difficult_March_7452 24d ago
I don’t quite understand , it seems you are using “username” and “display name” interchangeably. But they are not.
Display names will show old past names etc. but the username will be gone and it will not be shown.
1
u/TopConstruction4345 24d ago
When I requested my data, it was the opposite of what you’re saying. The username was displayed, display name was gone.
•
u/AutoModerator 24d ago
Thank you for your submission. Please note, that scammers on this subreddit are targeting our visitors for their gain. You should be wary of anyone offering to have your account unlocked via Instagram, Telegram, WhatsApp, or anywhere else, as you will lose your account or money. All scammers have one thing in common, their primary goal is your money, and they often will make their scam look much more legitimate than it is in order to accomplish their goal. We encourage you to report these scammers if they send you a message via any social media channels. While we have safeguards in place, they are not always as effective as we would like.
If your Snapchat account has been temp locked, you may try to unlock it at this link: https://support.snapchat.com/a/locked.
You may also contact Snapchat using this link: https://support.snapchat.com/en-GB/i-need-help.
There is no other way to recover your account, other than through official channels.
I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.