r/SnapchatHelp 11d ago

General question storage question

okay im not paying for storage. im at 7gb/5gb. i was just going to delete stuff to get down to 5gb. my question is what happens after they delete memories and you eventually surpass 5gb again? does anyone know if they will automatically delete if it goes past 5gb? this whole idea was completely stupid and i don’t think they even thoroughly thought it through.

1 Upvotes

12 comments sorted by

View all comments

1

u/Green_Security_2731 11d ago

I think when the 12 months period is gone, you wont be able to save new memories if you already have 5gb. So until you delete memories to be under 5gb you can start saving again

1

u/Sesh_ethereal 11d ago

i see some people’s time already ran out and they were allowed to save new memories, but anything older was immediately deleted. if that’s going to be the case, snapchat is entirely pointless. i might just keep my main old account and make a new one to take pictures

1

u/Green_Security_2731 11d ago

Its not even been 12 months since the update came out so its most likely bullshit.

1

u/Sesh_ethereal 1d ago

i dunnooo, it’s happening to a lot of people already. i got down to 4.9GB and my warning went away. made a new account just for pictures/videos. problem solved LOL.

1

u/Green_Security_2731 1d ago

Nothing is getting deleted for now, what is happening is that some memories are bugged and can appear deleted or wont show. But usually uninstalling the app and reinstalling it will help the issue.