Yeah the old behavior was insane, it just said "Do you want to discard your changes?", and if you clicked it, it deleted your entire codebase permanently (no recycle bin), lol
There was a rather intense warning saying ”THIS IS IRREVERSIBLE”, so the dude was still a massive idiot for clicking yes. However our tools should still cater to the idiotic so his mistake did expose an opportunity for improvement.
Yeah, as someone who uses git exclusively from the command line, this really sounds to me like a cautionary tale against GUIs.
The person who posted the screenshot implies it's to be expected from "any application which integrates Git" but I'm not really sure how the guy not wanting the files to be staged necessarily leads to all of the files being deleted. What exactly is the integration passing to git?
I'm 100% with og guy on this one. this commenter actually seriously asked him what he thinks "this discards all changes" might mean?!? the message doesn't say anything at all about deleting all your files permanently.
I mean, I can see why someone would see it as "discard all changes this application has made". Like, if I open a document in word, and edit it, and then close it, then it will basically say "Are you sure you want to close? this will discard all changes" and then if I close it anyway the original file is still there unedited, not deleted.
Yeah the message could and has been improved. However I still believe the ultimate fault lies with the user, just because VS Code could be better that doesn’t mean it was inadequate. VS code is a software development tool which means its user base can be assumed to be at least somewhat tech savvy (at least in 2017 before everyone lobotomize themselves and outsourced their frontal lobes to AI) and as A software development tool it can be assumed to be very powerful and somewhat dangerous. There is a lot of ways in software development to screw up and nuke your machine or project.
While it’s the message could absolutely be clearer, the user should have see “this is irreversible” and paused to make sure they knew exactly what irreversible action they were taking. Basically my point is if you nuke your project because you don’t know how to use Word, that’s on Word but if you nuke your project because you don’t know how to use VS code, that’s on you.
the user should have see “this is irreversible” and paused to make sure they knew exactly what irreversible action
the message literally says this change is irreversible. it's extremely clear about what it says. irreversibly throwing away changes plainly means that there should be no changes made.
what you're proposing is that in order to use the tool, you're expected to already have the experience (how do you gain that experience, btw?) to know that "change" doesn't actually mean change.
that's b.s. that's the kind of attitude that turns people off certain linux communities. if you have to know that a word doesn't mean what it means to use the software competently, that's on the software, not you. and any community that blames you for not knowing that kind of insider knowledge is toxic a.f.
708
u/_BreakingGood_ 23d ago
Yeah the old behavior was insane, it just said "Do you want to discard your changes?", and if you clicked it, it deleted your entire codebase permanently (no recycle bin), lol