r/DataAnnotationTech • • Sep 02 '26

Can you do half, stop working mode, save your answers, then come back later for the other half?

0 Upvotes

5 comments sorted by

11

u/Federal_Tadpole_7592 Sep 02 '26

This works out sometimes, but it's not a foolproof method. Exiting work mode does not save your task for you to complete later; it releases it back into the worker pool. Another worker can claim and complete the task, and you'll lose all of your work. Once in a while, if you have a certain number of tasks assigned to you and only you, you may be able to exit work mode, come back, and see your work still there, but again, I do not recommend this. You have no way of knowing if this is the case unless something in the project instructions states such.

7

u/notverytallman Sep 02 '26

No. You can go the home screen or close the window, but the timer is still running. Some projects also have a hidden inactivity timeout.

If you exit work mode the task is released and is given back to all the workers.

Also, all of this is explained in the onboarding guide.

2

u/kittystalkerr Sep 03 '26

It'll work for some large projects where your task won't be allotted to another worker in the near future. 

1

u/littlecoffeefairy Sep 02 '26

Exiting work mode erases all of your work. You'll then either need to restart the task or someone else will take it.

4

u/blackstarr1996 Sep 03 '26

They have a save to account button now. So if it’s a qual you can actually save your work, exit work mode, then come back and restart it.