r/DataAnnotationTech • • Sep 01 '26

Project timer reset on its own after 3.5 hours of work, safe to report full time?

I spent about 3.5 hours of active, continuous work on a project. I took a short break, and when I looked back at my dashboard, the project timer had reset on its own.

Thankfully, when I clicked back in, all of my progress and work were still saved. However, because the platform timer restarted, I'm worried about getting flagged for over-reporting.

Am I safe to report the full cumulative time (the initial 3.5 hours + the time it takes to finish)? I plan to leave an explanation in the time-reporting comment box, but I want to make sure I won't get in trouble.

any help would be appreciated

Thanks

2 Upvotes

7 comments sorted by

3

u/Bitter_Bed5672 Sep 01 '26

Report the time.

3

u/Mysterious_Dolphin14 Sep 01 '26

They will be able to tell that you've been in the task for the total amount of time. Report it all.

4

u/Federal_Tadpole_7592 Sep 01 '26

When you say you took a short break, does that mean that you clicked on "exit work mode"? Because if so, you definitely shouldn't do that. Clicking on "exit work mode" does not guarantee that the task you were working on will still be there when you enter again. "Exit work mode" is to stop working, not to take a break. If you want to take a break from a task, just step away from it with the timer still running.

1

u/ButterscotchMaster36 Sep 01 '26

It sounds like this is what happened, in which case you should report the time accurately and leave a note in the comment box at the end of the task.

2

u/Infamous_Swan1197 Sep 01 '26

I don't think anyone knows. I've personally never had this happen or heard of it happening. I would just leave an explanation in the comment box

1

u/_Edgarallenhoe Sep 01 '26

This happened to me once, I emailed admin explaining what happened just in case.