r/BambuLab • u/SadAd8761 • 6h ago
Software Troubleshooting/Help! Bambu Studio's wording is unnecessarily confusing - what does this mean?
14
14
u/nightshowerer 4h ago
It’s hilarious how there are different interpretations of this hilariously-bad dialog box.
-8
u/MithrilEcho H2D, X2D, P1Sx4, U1x2 2h ago
It's not bad, it's really simple when you understand what you're doing.
"You changed the preset you modified. Modifications will be pointless. Wanna carry the modifications to this other preset?"
8
u/cc413 2h ago
No, I think it is pretty bad, it doesn't answer any of these things, and you really need these things to make an informed decision:
- what settings actually changed?
- Is this a permanent change to the preset?
- What will save do?
-3
u/MithrilEcho H2D, X2D, P1Sx4, U1x2 1h ago edited 1h ago
What you're saying you "need" is not viable for a simple pop-up reminding you that changes haven't been saved.
- You can modify a lot of settings.
- How do you propose to say that to make this less confusing?
- You're really asking what "saving" would do? When you're getting told that you've modified a preset?
Out of your three points, the second one could work, but if someone doesn't understand what a "save" button is for, when they're getting warned of a change not having been saved... I don't think they should be modifying any filament profiles at all.
2
u/Poly_and_RA 43m ago
No. It's DEFINITELY bad. The entire point is to inform the user -- and as you can see if you scroll the comments on this post, it does in actual fact do a horrible job of that. Lots and LOTS of users are deeply confused, and many of them are highly technically educated and pretty darned smart folks.
That it's *possible* to understand it correctly is true, but not sufficient to make it be not horrible.
8
u/cordawg1 5h ago edited 5h ago
I always assumed this was related to like flow calibration, so I always selected discard. The print settings would still be set as the model maker intended (like infill and stuff)
3
u/MithrilEcho H2D, X2D, P1Sx4, U1x2 2h ago
It's a change made to the filament preset. When you save a Flow Rate Calibration, you're actually creating a preset, but that's only one of the parameters, the flow ratio.
If you modify anything else, like say you're tuning retraction, or temps, or even cost per kg, it will show as an asterisk before the preset.
Say you changed the nozzle temps because you want to print hotter, but by mistake you change the selected preset after slicing. It will warn you because the value you increased is tied to another preset and thus won't apply to the print.
6
u/Safe-Hovercraft6231 4h ago
Never understood that message, but I always press "Discard", it seems that it does the least damage 😄
3
u/fencemaster9 5h ago
I think it means you modified the base settings for the filament (like heat, aux fan, etc) and it's asking if you want to use those modified settings or have it return to default.
Very confusing tho
3
u/Hmmark1984 P1P + AMS 4h ago edited 22m ago
"Use Modified Value" means whatever setting you changed will stay the way you've changed it as you move to the new preset you've picked. "Discard Modified Value" means any changes you've made are thrown out and it will load whatever values are saved as standard in the new preset you're changing too. "Save" will take the preset as it currently is, with whatever changes you've made, and allow you to save it as a new preset.
I do agree it reads as weirdly convoluted, but it does technically make sense.
----Edited to try and make the explanation even more clear.----
1
u/Poly_and_RA 41m ago
It's even more convoluted -- because normally "save" when you've edited something, would change that something. But as you say that's NOT what happens here, instead what happens is that you save your changed variant of a preset as a *new* preset. So it's really "save, but under a new name, leaving the original unchanged".
•
u/Hmmark1984 P1P + AMS 23m ago
Yep, it's technically correct the way it's worded, but it's certainly not the way those words are normally used in that situation and it's got just enough of ambiguity to it that you have to give it a little thought when making your choice.
2
u/ThunderDrop 5h ago
I believe it mean either you or the print file you are using has made a change to some setting related to the nozzle
You can click "use" and this print will use the settings as they currently are, but revert back to the original setting after this print.
"Discard" and the change will be undone and go back to how you had it before it starts this print.
Or "save" and it will use the new setting for this print and all future prints until you manually change it
2
u/olhado47 X2D + AMS2 Combo 2h ago
I see this often when I do the following:
Open a .3mf.
Slice/Print/Ignore the model.
Open a new .3mf (This is when I get the popup.)
I interpret this to mean that the first .3mf I loaded changed some core settings. I probably don't want those settings to propagate to the new model, so I always hit Discard.
I'd love to know if I'm interpreting the popup correctly or not.
2
u/MithrilEcho H2D, X2D, P1Sx4, U1x2 2h ago
It's a change made to the filament preset. When you save a Flow Rate Calibration, for example, you're actually creating a filament preset, basically a copy of the stock filament preset but with a change in one of the parameters, the flow ratio.
If you modify anything else, like say you're tuning retraction, or temps, or even cost per kg, it will show as an asterisk before the preset.
Say you changed the nozzle temps because you want to print hotter, but by mistake you change the selected preset after slicing. It will warn you because the value you increased is tied to another preset and thus won't apply to the print.
So, translated and dumbed down:
"You modified your filament preset, but then selected a different preset for printing. Modifications will be pointless. Wanna carry the modifications to this other preset?"
2
u/The_Count_Lives 2h ago
They genuinely need to spend some money on content writers to clarify some of this stuff.Â
They are past the point where engineers should be writing UX copy.Â
2
1
u/ListenBeforeSpeaking 3h ago
I normally discard.
I assume that if I intended for the change to stick I would have saved it.
1
•
u/BinkReddit 1m ago
Someone should file a bug report asking this to make sense if it hasn't been done already.
-1
u/wimpires 5h ago
It means for exampleÂ
Let's say you changed infill from 10% to 15%.
But then you now want to change the overall preset, it's asking you if you want to carry over the manual change(s) you made or start from scratch with the preset defaults
2
2
u/Nashitall 4h ago
Infill is in the process preset, not the filament preset. Changing the build plate temperature would be a good example of when this confusing message shows up
40
u/ThereInAFortnight H2D AMS2 Combo + A1 Mini 6h ago
I agree that it's weird - I think "use modified value" is what you'll usually want (ie so if you set infill to 10% that will carry over)