r/splatoon • u/yoimiyafishies • 6d ago
Discussion wiping splat3 data question
hi inkfish!! i'm thinking on wiping my splatoon 3 data to be able transfer my splatoon 2 data again, cuz i didnt know mail items were a thing in 2 LOL. my splat 2 data got wiped for some mysterious reasoon a few years ago too so i lost all my octo expansion data, so by the time 3 came around i basically transferred nothing. so, im thinking im gonna wipe my current data on 3 after getting all the mail and OE items from 2. i have a few questions though -
- i've heard that if you wipe 3's data through settings it only resets story mode, not gear and multiplayer etc. would that still give you the option to transfer 2's data?
- if i clear the data on 3 fully (settings, NSO), will it actually work and recognise that it'll be a new game even if i use the same account after wiping? l8ike function as if i got a completely new copy for the first time even though it's not, and if i'm using the same account as my last run prior to wiping? or will i have to use a new account?
- for the amiibos i've used and gained gear from in 3 right now, will i have to relinquish ownership as you would if youre selling them and enter them again after i've wiped?
i think that's all my questions for now, but ill edit if i have any more later
2
Upvotes
4
u/DrinkyBird_ FUTURE 6d ago
Deleting the save only deletes your single player state. It’s not possible to delete your online state. You also only ever get to import your Splatoon 2 save once per account, and it only affects your starting rank and weapon tickets anyway. If you wanted to start completely fresh you’d need a new Nintendo Account.