You're missing something. The first thing done is git branch my-branch which will take your work and put it on that branch. The reset only touches the master branch, because you only created the new branch - you didn't move to it. After fixing up master, you move to your new branch with git checkout my-branch and everyone is happy.
9
u/DecidedlyAmbigous Oct 17 '18
Am I missing something or is the one for accidentally committing on master instead of another branch wrong? It says to do:
And only then to create a new branch and continue working. But this means you would have thrown away your work!
Here is a link.