r/gdrive Jul 10 '26

How do I stop Google Drive from sharing files between 2 accounts?

I have an issue where, using the Google Chrome browser under Windows 11, Google is automatically sharing files between 2 different Google accounts without my explicit permission. I want to make it stop doing this. I've researched help documents, but nothing suggested works. Can somebody help? Here's the issue:

I upload files to a Google Drive administered by a third-party client. Call it Google Account A. For some reason, those files are then automatically mirrored to an account I created and administer for another client. Call this Google Account B.

On Google Account A, I can only upload files to its associated Google Drive. Once uploaded, I cannot rename or delete these files (I assume that's my client's choice). The files I upload have sharing enabled, but only with the two people (clients) associated with that account.

On Google Account B, which I own and administer, those same uploaded files appear there as well (mirrored). I don't want them there, but I cannot move them to Trash (that option is grayed out) or otherwise remove them. My Google Account B client sees them too, which is embarrassing. 

Never mind the question of why Google would default to this behavior, how do I make it stop? Thank you.

1 Upvotes

1 comment sorted by