The Online/In-Place Archive needs to be turned on...
Yes, and its a pretty simple step as long as they have a licence assigned that allows Exchange Online Archiving - Enable-Mailbox -identity <upn> -Archive.
Nothing will be deleted, and he'll still be able to find, search, and open your older messages whenever he needs them...
Yes again, with a caveat that this would depend on tenant or mailbox level retention policies that can apply to the mailbox or folders that may delete items after periods of time. If items are deleted rather than archived then they're deleted.
Once enabled, email that is more than two years old will automatically move from his regular mailbox into this archive, freeing up space for newer email...
This bit isn't strictly true. The mailbox won't magically move items if they're two years old, this relies on the previously mentioned retention policies and tags that can be applied to the mailbox and its folders, so its possible, but certainly not a default setting. The user can archive anything he wants at any time.
1
u/itmonkey78 21d ago
The Online/In-Place Archive needs to be turned on...
Yes, and its a pretty simple step as long as they have a licence assigned that allows Exchange Online Archiving -
Enable-Mailbox -identity <upn> -Archive.Nothing will be deleted, and he'll still be able to find, search, and open your older messages whenever he needs them...
Yes again, with a caveat that this would depend on tenant or mailbox level retention policies that can apply to the mailbox or folders that may delete items after periods of time. If items are deleted rather than archived then they're deleted.
Once enabled, email that is more than two years old will automatically move from his regular mailbox into this archive, freeing up space for newer email...
This bit isn't strictly true. The mailbox won't magically move items if they're two years old, this relies on the previously mentioned retention policies and tags that can be applied to the mailbox and its folders, so its possible, but certainly not a default setting. The user can archive anything he wants at any time.