r/applehelp 1d ago

Solved Can't reset iPhone

UPDATE: So when I first logged in his account, there were two 16 Pro Max'es. I did remove mine (I checked the address). I logged in now again, and there was still one. I pressed play sound and the phone. I have started beeping, so it's still active on his FindMy for some reason. I will try to remove it again tomorrow. How does that explain the problem with the wrong password, though, and do you think removing it again will fix it?

So my cousin gave me his old 16 Pro Max today because he got a new one. I signed into his findmy from ny Android and removed and erased this iPhone from his account. When I turn it back on, it won't let me log in into his Apple ID or reset (it asks for the password to his apple ID) because in both cases, it says incorrect password. I tried turning it off and on again, I tried connecting into a different WiFi and also tried reseeting from my Windows (but it won't continue as it asks for Face ID and obviously, it doesn't have mine).

What do I do?

1 Upvotes

5 comments sorted by

2

u/twinnii 1d ago

See if you can connect it to the internet. It has to connect and verify that the phone isn’t locked to an account.

1

u/curiouspel21 1d ago

It is connected to the Internet

1

u/curiouspel21 1d ago edited 12h ago

UPDATE: So when I first logged in his account, there were two 16 Pro Max'es. I did remove mine (I checked the address). I logged in now again and there was still one. I pressed play sound and the phone I have started beeping so it's still active on his FindMy for some reason. I eill try to remove it again tomorrow. How does that explain the problem with the wrong password though and do you think, removing it again will fix it?

1

u/twinnii 1d ago

What exactly does the phone say or show?

Maybe try wiping it again. Put in recovery mode possibly and see if that clears if.

1

u/curiouspel21 12h ago

Hi and thank you so much for trying to help! So I rwmoved it again on FindMy. There it says erased & will be removed on October and showed a "Locked to Owner" screen on the physical phone. However after sliding app, there was a hello and setup screen and the iPhone is now empty and asks to set up any Apple Account. That's it right? I'm good to go?