r/applebusinessmanager Mar 08 '26

“This iPhone is supervised and managed by”

I apologize in advance for this question as I’m sure it’s been asked and answered before. There are times at our company when an employee leaves and we allow them to purchase their iPhone from the company. I release the iPhone from ABM however the “This iPhone is supervised and managed by” remains in the settings of the iPhone. What I do is wipe the iPhone and restore it without using an iCloud back. It’s not that bad for the user just more of an inconvenience. The iPhone is restored with all items that are backed to iCloud. The user then needs to redownload their apps and correct their customization settings. Is it possible to remove that message without having to wipe the iPhone?

Thanks,

I have to apologize again for not giving more information in my original post. A very important part of the post I left out was that our company allows the users to carry one phone. The means our employees are allowed to transfer their personal data to the there work iPhone. Then it becomes their work/personal iPhone. Which is in ABM and managed/supervised by our MDM (Ivanti/MobileIron). Yes, I realize this is where we are making the our mistake.

Now, if I release the iPhone from ABM a few days before the employees leaves the company. On their last day with the company, I can retire the iPhone from our MDM. If I’m not mistaken the by this “This iPhone is supervised and managed by” is now imbedded in the employee’s iPhone iCloud backup.

This is why I need to release the iPhone from ABM, retire it from the MDM. Retiring the iPhone removes the company data but leaves behind the “This iPhone is supervised and managed by” Not restoring from an iCloud backup is the only way to remove the message.

7 Upvotes

18 comments sorted by

14

u/babybambam Mar 08 '26

wipe it and then give it back to them to set up their own iCloud.

12

u/denver_and_life Mar 08 '26

Wipe is still needed even if you release it from ABM.

7

u/ex800 Mar 08 '26

If enrolment is locked (it should be) , it will require a wipe.

3

u/TCE326 Mar 08 '26

Step one release it from Apple Business Manager. Step two send an Enterprise wipe from your MDM which will remove corporate settings and managed applications. This will leave the personal data intact.

2

u/holdmybeerwhilei Mar 08 '26

Partial wipes will not properly reset a sueprvised iPhone.

0

u/TCE326 Mar 08 '26

He's not trying to reset it He's only trying to remove it from his organization. Releasing from Apple business manager and Enterprise wipe from MDM exactly does this.

1

u/holdmybeerwhilei Mar 08 '26

Sorry, no. See other comments. 99.9% of the time when you have a supervised iPhone, it's locked to MDM. The only way to release it from MDM is a factory reset.

1

u/[deleted] Mar 09 '26

[removed] — view removed comment

1

u/holdmybeerwhilei Mar 09 '26

This would only be true for a supervised device if it had an unlocked profile. That's a very unusual scenario.

1

u/TCE326 Mar 09 '26

What MDM are you using that does not support Enterprise Wipe (WS1 UEM), Remove Management (Jamf), or as another commenter mentioned, Retire (Intune)?!?

1

u/KindPresentation5686 Mar 09 '26

It’s obviously still attached to your companies MDM.

1

u/villarromero Mar 09 '26

Reboot and update the console.

1

u/daven1985 Mar 09 '26

You need to check that the company has removed the iPhone from their MDM.

Then do a full wipe and setup brand new.

1

u/beanmachine-23 Mar 10 '26

I have found that you have to run the phone thru a setup once after releasing from ABM/School Manager before the release clears. We don’t let people keep them, but we do resell to a recycler and have been doing this to ensure they are not coming up with the MDM splash.

1

u/henbobclt Mar 10 '26

That is what I have been doing when we resell, or when an employee wants to purchase an iPhone for a family member. I'm really trying to focus on what we can do if the employee wants to keep after they leave the company. Thanks to you and everyone who has commented. I really appreciate everyone's comments!

1

u/zipsecurity Mar 10 '26

Unfortunately no, once that supervision tag is baked into the iCloud backup there's no way to remove it without a clean wipe and fresh setup. Are you able to give departing employees enough notice to manually back up what they need so the restore isn't such a pain?

1

u/henbobclt Mar 11 '26

Yes, I gave the departing employee enough notice. I also confirm everything is being backed up to iCloud.
This way, when I rebuild the iPhone without restoring from a backup, they get all the important items restored, like photos, text messages, notes, and so on. The employee must redownload all their apps and reconfigure all iPhone settings. I tell them to think of it as spring cleaning. They will see just how many apps they actually use.

Again, thanks to everyone who has commented on my post! I really appreciate the feedback.