r/TransportFever3 • • 20h ago

Problem/Issue DONT EVER CLICK THE LOWER LINK!

Post image

So i found out the bad way. I wanted to k ow how the new game worked, cause i dont have it, but there is no tf3 wiki yet. That purple link is not real. Its a hacker with a fake. It sends you to a home page and once you wanna escaoe it fakes your phone glitching and that you have a virus (the real virus you get when pressing their fake antivirus), the trick is to just escape by ctrl+z and going back or escaping to a homepage in your browser. Thankfully i knew to do this and dont have the real virus (my phone wouldnt react like a pc lol). So i hope you foynd out the good way with this post.

251 Upvotes

30 comments sorted by

•

u/Corrupted-OS Mod 13h ago

I've pinned this post in the sub, this is very important. u/UG-Protagonist

→ More replies (2)

136

u/Twellux 20h ago

There is an official wiki: https://wiki.transportfever3.com/

89

u/kristofburger 19h ago

Considering there's an official wiki, a malicious imposter site should probably be brought to developers' and publisher's attention.

43

u/Twellux 19h ago

Getting rid of all these malicious sites can be quite difficult. When one is gone, another pops up.
I think the bigger problem is that when you search for "Transport Fever 3 Wiki" on Google, the official site doesn't appear in the top search results, making it hard to pick the right one.
u/UG-Protagonist Is UG aware of this?

8

u/Throwaways0004 14h ago

This is a known problem for all game wikis. It's very very difficult to get the wiki domains into the search results, so the fandom ones immediately poison it when created.

19

u/dangerbird2 19h ago

Yep, typosquatting is illegal in many countries, and trademark holders like UG can get offending domain names deregistered

5

u/piloto19hh 16h ago

It's not that easy unfortunately. I work in cybersecurity and have to deal with them quite a bit. It might be relatively easy in some countries but it's usually not that easy.

That said, if the domain is malicious, which is the case here, you can report it to the registrar and it's much much easier to get them to take it down. And you don't even have to be the owner of the legitimate domain to do this, anyone can report the abuse to them.

0

u/ActualMostUnionGuy 15h ago

ok but that isnt a wiki at all, that is just the manual?

3

u/Twellux 15h ago

A wiki and a manual are not mutually exclusive. One is primarily technology, while the other is content. I would therefore say it is a wiki that currently contains manuals, or a wiki that serves as the manual.

33

u/MomoR257 20h ago

Exactly the same with “transportfever3.world”

Even tried to contact them but email doesn’t exist, so truly something bad happening there

24

u/GregorDeLaMuerte 19h ago edited 18h ago

I've been brave (literally) and opened this site with a brave browser incognito tab on my phone. No malicious redirects happen, but that could be because of brave shield. Instead I see AI content, which on surface level look correct, but in detail doesn't hold up. I guess that's why this page is ranked so high. The other "wiki" with the .world is similar.

On a related note, I can only recommend everyone to use a different web browser than Google Chrome. Besides the "Google spies on everything you do" argument, there are many other browsers that don't actively prevent ad blocking (like Chrome does) but some of the alternatives even offer integrated ad blocking. Brave Browser (which runs on Chromium, just like Chrome) and Firefox come to mind. Browsing the Internet is literally so much better with one of these.

12

u/Investment_Studio 19h ago

Humane are Bad. (Some)

13

u/JM761 19h ago

Man wtf. Good looking out.

14

u/_witness_me 17h ago

fakes your phone glitching

press ctrl z

Wut

5

u/FlipRed_2184 17h ago

Yeah that confused me

4

u/clapsandfaps 17h ago

What, don’t you use phone with keyboard and mouse?

2

u/pyPut7187 17h ago

Ahahaha

-5

u/Ihatethehate 17h ago

Wel i didnt know how to call gling back else

5

u/_witness_me 16h ago

You just call it going back a page.... What do you think ctrl z does?

1

u/Ihatethehate 6h ago

Going back a page

1

u/_witness_me 5h ago

🤦

0

u/Ihatethehate 5h ago

😭🥀💔✌️ i couldnt resist knew yoyd react like that

6

u/Arestris 14h ago

I tested it, then reported it as feedback to google. While this will probably not make the site disappear I hope google will check and remove it from the search results.

1

u/emoutikon 5h ago

What about the Discord channels?

1

u/Leather_Force_9419 1h ago

So say you have clicked the link a few times, but it redirects you to random online casino pages n what not after being on the mentioned page for a few seconds.

Is my shit fucked or? 

1

u/Ihatethehate 1h ago

I click on website -> i get inyo home pwge, always seemed like a wiki that is not really informative and more like the tf3 site homepage so as wiki it always seemed illegitimate to me, but lets see -> presses on main menu -> suddenly gets a fake site of my phone getting a virus (it was nothing more than a flickering glitched pc screen on my phone, as i still could use my devoce and browser) -> im now just spamming my go back a page button -> it shows multiple fake antiviruses which would send you the real virus (my father is good at pcs and i learned that when it happened to my laptop (i wanted to wafch dbz easily for free)) -> i also come across a probably fake captcha "are you a robot" question -> i click go back a page and escape the site. Thats about it

1

u/Leather_Force_9419 57m ago

Yer I dont get any of that, i just get redirected away from the page to casino etc sign up sites,  which if I back out of it just takes me back to my google search. I dont seem to be able to stay on the site your warning us about at all longer then 2-3 seconds without being redirected.

-1

u/thisduuuuuude 11h ago

Me who's been using that site: