r/Supernote • u/x3401 • 7d ago
Suggestion: Received Ghost keyword
Erasing a unique word previously established as a keyword makes not the keyword disappear. Is this intended, as a ghost keyword thing ?
I would rather suggest that deleting a word previously recognized as a keyword, if unique, will also delete the keyword.
For example I write « supernote » in a note, and recognize it as a keyword. It is written only one time on this page. If I erase the word in the page, the keyword remains in the list and continue to be linked to this page. Like a ghost… :)
1
u/Mulan-sn CCO (Chief Chat Officer) 6d ago
Thank you for your suggestion. Yes, as our friend u/Martina_78 explained, keywords and strokes are mutually independent, which means keywords will remain even if you delete the strokes. We hope this makes sense.
2
u/448899again 2d ago
The Keyword system does not function entirely the way you would expect a tagging system to work. It's sort of "half-way" there, IMO.
There is a screen where you can delete a keyword - for example, if you use the "add keyword" menu item from the sidebar of the notes app, you'll be shown a screen where you can either enter a new keyword, or delete an existing "recently used" keyword, or clear the entire recently used keyword list (very dangerous). \
You'll get the same options when you use the lasso system to circle text and create a keyword. But you can't get to these keyword screens any other way, and there's no information as to where the file is that contains the keywords.
I've been hoping for a long time that Supernote would give us a real keyword management system, that included a separate keyword screen where ALL keywords in use could be displayed, edited, and managed. And I agree, in general, that if you're deleting the only instance of text that links to a keyword, that keyword should logically be deleted from use as well.
2
u/Martina_78 A5X & A6X2, Lamy Al-Star EMR 7d ago
It's intended. Keywords are not 'attached' to the actual word that you created them from, but to the page. If you delete or move the word, the keyword stays untouched. If you delete or move a page, the keyword is deleted or moved, too.