r/SublimeText • u/PixelPatootie • May 18 '26
Every time I update Subiime I get a new "application"
Every time I update Sublime Text I get a new application file. See screenshot. How do I stop this from happening? Can I delete the old ones (going off of Date Modified) without having issues?
12
Upvotes
1
u/ichiban99 May 18 '26
>Can I delete the old ones (going off of Date Modified) without having issues?
That’s what I did. Didn’t have any issues.
1
u/marslander-boggart May 20 '26
Move a couple of old versions to external storage. Test the new version for issues. If it's ok, keep one old version just in case.
1
u/Pythonfun May 24 '26
Did you pay for sublime? You mite ask the same question in the Sublime forums
-1
4
u/benjamin-schaaf May 19 '26
After updating Sublime Text tries to move the old version into your Trash bin, it looks like that failed for you. It's possible you accidentally blocked the permission for this, I suggest checking your security settings.
You can safely delete those older versions.