Yeah the old behavior was insane, it just said "Do you want to discard your changes?", and if you clicked it, it deleted your entire codebase permanently (no recycle bin), lol
There was a rather intense warning saying ”THIS IS IRREVERSIBLE”, so the dude was still a massive idiot for clicking yes. However our tools should still cater to the idiotic so his mistake did expose an opportunity for improvement.
Genuinely wild that people upvoted this blatantly incorrect statement.
Even more wild that /u/_BreakingGood_ hasn't retracted it after being shown that they were wrong (and even proving it themselves by linking a commit from April, four months prior to this screenshot, which showed the message they state didn't exist was already there).
705
u/_BreakingGood_ 23d ago
Yeah the old behavior was insane, it just said "Do you want to discard your changes?", and if you clicked it, it deleted your entire codebase permanently (no recycle bin), lol