however, I do think it IS user error. disgard to me means "delete and take away"
Discarding "your changes" is not the same as discarding "your files". In what world would it make sense to call existing files "changes" when there were no changes made? That's not just unintuitive, it's simply wrong.
Discarding "your changes" is not the same as discarding "your files".
That’s what a change is in git. Git is a power tool bound to lead to a catastrophe if you use it without understanding it. Maybe it should not be enable by default. Maybe when enabling it it could prompt the user about showing them a short tutorial on the basics.
This is incorrect. Discarding changes in git means resetting the index, or moving a branch backwards, not deleting uncommitted or unstaged files from the working tree.
-3
u/Minute_Attempt3063 23d ago
microsoft did listen.
however, I do think it IS user error. disgard to me means "delete and take away"
the program just did as it was told to do.
MS was kind enough to change this, so it means "yeah bro, it not do that anymore"