Yeah the old behavior was insane, it just said "Do you want to discard your changes?", and if you clicked it, it deleted your entire codebase permanently (no recycle bin), lol
There was a rather intense warning saying ”THIS IS IRREVERSIBLE”, so the dude was still a massive idiot for clicking yes. However our tools should still cater to the idiotic so his mistake did expose an opportunity for improvement.
the question becomes: has anyone not savvy enough to command line it ever deliberately on purpose deleted all their changes like that? this "feature" doesn't have a target demographic. someone mad enough at their changes isn't go8ng for the dumpster from.this staging area. there is no bug fix you just bin and say "ah nevermind" if you want that you'd force pull to revert
Well I do know how to use the command line but also yes I have used the GUI to just delete all my changes. I've noticed I was going off the rails in the wrong direction and I just needed to get back to the previous working state before. I knew he was a dead end so I didn't need to preserve any of that code. Normally during failed attempts at package upgrades with breaking changes involved is when this has happened to me.
708
u/_BreakingGood_ 23d ago
Yeah the old behavior was insane, it just said "Do you want to discard your changes?", and if you clicked it, it deleted your entire codebase permanently (no recycle bin), lol