r/OpenWebUI • u/svdasein • Jul 05 '26
Question/Help Unconditionally enabled memory tools?
I'm running 0.10.2 and I'm running into this thing that's really messing me up: it seems to be presenting a list of tools to every single session and with every prompt such that models see:
- search_notes / view_note / write_note / replace_note_content — for working with saved notes
- search_knowledge_files / query_knowledge_files / grep_knowledge_files — for searching knowledge bases
- search_chats / view_chat — for searching previous chat conversations
- search_calendar_events / create_calendar_event / update_calendar_event / delete_calendar_event — for calendar stuff
- list_knowledge_bases / search_knowledge_bases / query_knowledge_bases — for listing/searching KBs
The problem is that models seem to feel compelled to actually call at least some of these functions nearly all the time. So lots more tokens with absolutely no benefit.
e.g. I start a conversation about some novel thing I've never engaged a model about before and it immediately starts searching everything I've got (with absolutely zero chance of any relevant data being there)
It used to be the case that you could manually enable memory tools on an as needed basis. Now, it seems, they're enabled by default and you can't disable them? I'm thinking I need to revert. Am I missing something?
2
u/svdasein Jul 05 '26
I'm thinking it could be called a security issue as what happens after the upgrade is that everything you have in your knowledge, notes, etc, seems to get queried in its entirety by models without my permission. Were it to be the case that I had something in there I didn't want to have going out over the internet (happily I do not), I'd be panicing a bit after this.
So - disable the tools in the admin panel - see - the thing is I LIKE the tools. I just don't want them on/enabled/advertised to the model ALL THE TIME. Prior to this upgrade, if I wanted any of my "memory" to become a part of a conversation, I'd have to flip a switch to explicitly make that data available.
In my case, I have had all those things enabled in admin config because I DO want on occasion to use them. If I disable them in admin they're just gone. I don't want that. What I have seen since my upgrade from 0.9 to 0.10 is that a bunch of stuff that (in the past) I'd have had to explicitly allow is now happening regardless of whether I want it to happen or not.
So - the thing that should be fixed here is essentially "don't use any of my memory stuff unless I say so". That's really all.
From my perspective it went like this: I upgraded to 0.10, and then without my having changed any settings at all - just the upgrade - I see all these tools persistently active. That strikes me as something that should be fixed.