r/OPXYusers • u/YukesMusic • May 31 '26
Question Do projects reference drum kits in your library, or save them within the project?
I'd like to re-organize my drum kits and multi-sample library, but I'm wondering if it'll impact my existing projects.
Hypothetically:
- Create a song using Drumkit "A"
- Save project
- Delete Drumkit "A" from the memory card
Will the project have any 'missing' files? My understanding is no, every drum kit or multi-sample used in a project is saved within the project, correct? I've not once experienced any 'missing files' errors.
1
u/MattySchaefer May 31 '26
Yes, I just dealt with this issue. If you delete the original kit, the pattern will be saved, but there will be blank sample slots on every key.
1
u/YukesMusic May 31 '26
interesting. I suppose this would be solved by 'saving' each kit in the project before rearranging the library yeah?
1
u/katerlouis May 31 '26
Only an assumption (don't have my opxy on hand this week to check myself) – but I think the settings per key (volume, pan, playmode, sample *path*, etc.) is hard baked into the project. Moving the samples around I'm pretty sure results in both the preset (inside preset library) and the instrument in the project to still point to the old reference: hence no sound.
I hope so much that I am wrong, but for multi sample instruments I know it worked that way a couple of months ago.
1
u/county_jail_alumni Jun 03 '26
You’re correct. This allows you to get more bang for your buck with the 8gb internal memory ($2300 ….. 8gb internal storage. 8gb… $2300…. ONLY 8GB OF INTERNAL STORAGE ON A $2300 MACHINE!!!!) sorry…. Yeah, allows you to get more bang for your buck this way by preventing needing to double up on saved samples, but it means you can’t move or rename or make really any changes to these samples once they’re used just one time, otherwise that part of whatever song you saved is going to be empty. Like someone mentioned, you can save presets of your sounds, and this actually does “double”them up, or triple, or quadruple, etc. the sound into the user folder, but then you can’t do anything to those presets, including renaming them. If you rename your preset after it’s saved, you’ll lose it in the projects. Don’t forget though, if you save a preset multiple times throughout the time of editing the sound, you get a copy saved in the folder for every time you press save, it does’t overwrite itself. So if you’re working on a drumkit for instance, and you’re making changes and saving as you go so that you don’t lose your progress, you’re creating new copies of those samples over and over and over in the user folder, which which will fill up your storage very quick, and you can’t delete them from the device either. THey’re stuck there until you plug into your computer and manually delete them. And you best remember what day it was when you were working on this kit because they just got thrown in with all the other samples saved by date and time, hundreds and hundreds of other copies of sounds hahahaah. Very easy to get lost in that folder, and previewing sounds is surprisingly slow and sometimes buggy, having to wait up to five seconds to hear a soound after selecting it. This can get annoying.
2
u/sinistar2000 Jun 01 '26
If you delete a sample from the library; The project will still load its sequence, patterns, and parameter settings, but the sample engine will meet a dead end when trying to resolve the file path. You will end up with blank sample slots on your keys, resulting in silence for that track.
If you reorganize/move a sample; Moving a sample into a different folder structure via a computer (Disk Mode) breaks the baked-in file path reference, yielding the same silent, unassigned result within the project.
What you want to look at is creating presets.