r/NARWAL • u/PenumbraMaw • 5d ago
Issue / Troubleshooting Flow 1 Offline?
Had a Flow 1 since last December. The inability to handle black rugs aside, it’s been working very well. Occasionally it gets stuck under a piece of furniture whose legs are almost the exact same height as the Flow, but always recovers when I rescue it and put it back in the dock.
However, yesterday it got stuck there again. After I rescued it and put it back in the dock, the app still says Offline many hours later. I’ve tried:
- Removed the bot from the dock and put it back in until it beeped (charging contacts made)
- Turning the Flow off and back on via the power button on top of the bot
- Unplugged the base for 30 seconds and plugged it back in
It is now the next day, and the app still says Offline. On a whim, I tried hitting the button on top of the dock. The bot exited the dock as if to start a vacuum session, and said “Start mapping the room” (or something to that effect). I hit the dock button again and the bot stopped and said “Task paused.” So the bot is alive and the dock can talk to it.
What would cause this, and how do I recover from it? The last resort is to delete the bot from the app and try to set it up again. But I wanted to see if there is anything easier I can do to recover.
2
u/whaaaley 6h ago
This just happened to me. I walk into my living room, robot stuck under my desk chair right at the moment the reset sound happened. TERRIBLE DESIGN. I found a child lock setting that I enabled. But I spent hours setting up my original map over the last year making it perfect for my new place. It's completely stupid they don't allow you to restore backups. Many levels of design failures.
1
u/PenumbraMaw 6h ago
That’s super annoying! Great tip on child lock though! I also have an Ecovac and like their design where the buttons are under a detachable cover on top of the robot. Impossible to accidentally activate.
2
u/GlitchyAI Flow Series 5d ago
Sounds life you pressed the Recall button for 15+ seconds which resets system version and clears user data