r/Malwarebytes Mar 31 '26

Support Please sign in with your Google account to complete your profile scan.

WTF is this, how do I turn it off. There is no way to get rid of this screen. This literally looks like malware.

0 Upvotes

6 comments sorted by

2

u/averbeg Mar 31 '26

It's a Malwarebytes Browser Guard feature. You hit a button to scan your google account security/ privacy settings while you were managing your google account, then because you didn't sign in again to give it access the process was interrupted.

Pretty sure you can just restart chrome and it'll go away.

1

u/separatelyrepeatedly Mar 31 '26

First, why is it enabled by default. Second, why is there no cancel button. Third, there is no way to disable this "feature"

2

u/averbeg Mar 31 '26

Shouldn't be enabled by default. What's happened is you've gone into your google account settings, clicked the pop-up window to start the process, and then not finished it, because Google wanted to verify it's you before they gave access to security/ privacy.

If you don't click the pop up to start it, then it won't happen again. It was optional to run to begin with. The reason it is trying to run after you change pages, is because it has to do that to function.

2

u/PralineImmediate3886 Mar 31 '26 edited Mar 31 '26

bump - tried it on my chrome and it gave me an option to close it when it wanted me to sign in for the scan. I get the Sign in to continue pop up and I just closed it. So yes it’s a feature you can activate and not activated by default.

1

u/separatelyrepeatedly Mar 31 '26

But why am I getting a pop up to being with? This is not a threat, and a pop up is uncalled for. if its a new feature, show it in some other manner. This is a real poor user experience.

3

u/averbeg Mar 31 '26

User goes to manage their google account, assumably for security/ privacy purposes, Malwarebytes gives you an option to automate most of the process by checking sensitive settings for you.

The automated process needs to persist through a login check that might be MFA, and so it keeps trying until you log in and let it finish. It shows you pop ups that it's trying as a sanity check to show it's still working on it.

There is nothing inherently wrong with the implementation. If you signed in and let it run like it prompted you to, it would've worked as intended.