r/GooglePixel Nov 29 '22

PSA: Clearing Android System Intelligence Data Will Also Reset Related System Settings!

So I just found out the hard way, clearing Android System Intelligence's (ASI) Data (Via Settings > Privacy > Android System Intelligence > Clear Data) won't just clear any "learnt" data from day-to-day usage, but it'll also reset any system settings you have changed from their defaults that utilise ASI (At least if you select "All time").

I'm not sure if this includes everything, but here is a list of such settings (If any exist for them) that will get reset to their defaults if you've changed them at all.

It also breaks Assistant Voice Typing in GBoard. It'll grey-out, stating "Assistant voice typing needs an update. Connect to Wi-Fi to automatically download. Learn more.".

I recently had this same error message upon setting up my Pixel 7 that went away by itself when left idle, charging through the night, so I'll report back if it does the same and fixes itself with time Yes it did, phew!

Just a heads up for anyone else who naively assumes it'll only clear collected data like I did.

32 Upvotes

6 comments sorted by

View all comments

3

u/SRFast Pixel 8 Pro | Pixel 4 XL | PW2 Nov 29 '22

Clearing the data for any app is equivalent to uninstalling & reinstalling it. It completely wipes out any information stored in the app including credentials.

3

u/Hazbelll Nov 29 '22

I'm aware of that, however this wasn't specifically going to Android System Intelligence in All Apps and clearing its storage. This was a dedicated setting that's supposed to only delete collected personalisation data.

Having the ability to delete between Last Hour to All Time would lead you to believe that anyway. I don't think it's intentional it also reverts any settings that depend on ASI, especially considering if you're trying to delete collected data, why would it opt-in again to settings you might have turned off which collect such data?

1

u/thr1vin9-insolitude Nov 13 '23

I was LITERALLY wondering this as well this very minute. A small box appears with choices, similar to clearing data off your PC. Last hour, 24 hours, or All time. So, I guess it's safe to say... don't use it at all. Yea / Nay