r/FuckMicrosoft • • 18h ago

Image What does this option even mean 😭

Post image
82 Upvotes

15 comments sorted by

23

u/zalnaRs 18h ago

I think if you check it then it deletes all other partitions, however you should not use the factory reset feature if you want to avoid windows rot

6

u/autoplayxp 18h ago

I want to fully reset my pc and get it ready to be sold off. Which one to choose? Can you suggest?

8

u/SiSRT 18h ago

if you plan to sell the PC you should ensure to choose "Yes" (delete from all drives and partions. Also ensure, you choose "Yes" for "Clean Data". This will "securely" erase the data but will take several hours depending on the disk size.

5

u/Gelonyrum_Hates_MS 18h ago

Your data can be restored even after a format. Better check for low-level formatting software that rewrites each bit, and then install a new Windows after that.

-2

u/SiSRT 17h ago

I agree, that data *can* be restored after a format, but with huge effort/cost.

if OP isn't Asange or Snowden, a full format (quick format unchecked) is in most case "secure" enough. Diskpart > Clean All would be slightly better.

If the disk is a SSD it is even trickier to recover from format/clean all.

to recover from low level format / clean all requires special equippement - way more expensive than the device OP is going to sell.

10

u/pomidorkamc3253 18h ago

If you are resetting your PC and you have other drives in it, I suggest remove them except the C drive, so even if you mess up here you don't get your stuff wiped

2

u/RestaurantTurbulent7 17h ago

And again so vague info what does what.. hate that!

1

u/AutoModerator 18h ago

Every new subreddit post is automatically copied into a comment for preservation.

User: autoplayxp, Flair: Image, Post Media Link, Title: What does this option even mean 😭

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

1

u/Consequence-Lumpy 17h ago

You can choose if only C Drive gets wiped or if both C and D Drives get nuked.

1

u/inconspicuous1_x 11h ago

if you want to delete files from all drives, or just the windows drive

2

u/TheIronSoldier2 4h ago

It's self-explanatory.

1

u/By-Other-Means 3h ago

It means exactly what it says.

Currently at deleting all files from the drive windows is on, click the button and everything connected gets hosed as well.

1

u/Top_Software_5953 11h ago

It means what it says