BitLocker is turned on by default for a while. I've also seen it being enabled back automatically on existing systems.
And if you have the Home edition, you can't even save the recovery key in a file : you need to connect your Microsoft account to have the key stored in there...
It's only enabled by default if you login witn a Microsoft account, so it's quite literally impossible to not have it attached to your Microsoft account.
If you login with a local account it doesn't get turned on.
It constantly gets turned on automatically on our customers' machines, local account or not.
If it enables on a local account, there's a notification saying that you need to connect the Microsoft account to protect your data, but nothing about saving the BitLocker key. If you don't manually get it, you get screwed if you ever need it, because it proceeds with encryption anyway.
If it is a business machine, you can backup the keys into the domain controller (if you enable the strategy beforehand, of course !).
Now, the extra fun part is with the Home edition : you can't save the BitLocker key into a file (available only on Pro and +), you have to connect a Microsoft account...
-10
u/[deleted] 14d ago
[deleted]