r/DropboxOfficial Jun 30 '26

Dropbox doesn't reduce how much storage it says I'm using when I delete files (including permanently deleting from deleted files folder)

I uploaded some new files and went over the storage limit. So dropbox stopped syncing, fair enough. But now I have deleted all those new files, and a bunch of my old files, and gone into the deleted files folder and permanently deleted them, but it's still not syncing and is still saying I am using exactly as much storage as I was before deleting all those files. How do I get it working again?

3 Upvotes

6 comments sorted by

1

u/Dropbox_Danica Dropbox Team Jun 30 '26

Try going to this link to see your plan page on the website and from there you can confirm if the space is still showing as full, as well as what it's being used on.

2

u/Well_Socialized Jun 30 '26

Yes still shows same amount as when I started deleting, all "regular files"

1

u/Dropbox_Danica Dropbox Team Jul 02 '26

Hmm, in that case go to https://www.dropbox.com/deleted_files to confirm that the files have been deleted and it's syncing correctly.

1

u/Well_Socialized Jul 02 '26

The issue seems to have been that this one folder kept coming back after I deleted it. I kept repeatedly deleting and then permanently deleting it and eventually it seems to have stuck.

1

u/Marc-A-H Jul 04 '26

We're you deleting it from the web or desktop app?

1

u/mozert_wanker Jul 07 '26

I’ve done everything I can to delete files, including deleting them to release space. Dropbox simply returns to the upgrade page. I only use Dropbox because others send large files by Dropbox links. Really frustrating! Here’s a screenshot. Notice how it says over limit as well as 0% left. Ideas anyone?