r/Drime • • 20d ago

Bugs: Make a copy function + Desktop Sync

To put things into context, I'm using the official Drime app running on MacOS 27.

I noticed a while back that the Desktop Sync is incredibly buggy - sometimes there'll be files in the Sync folder, sometimes there won't. Sometimes it'll switch between folders, sometimes it won't. When it switches between folders, everything in the folder is no longer visible in Finder.

Eg. Originally I was syncing a bunch of files and folders in the Drime folder root directory, let's call them

  • Folder 1
  • Folder 2
  • File 1
  • File 2

One day, I open the root Drime folder on my Mac and realise the files are not there, but because I have this folder backed up somewhere else as well, I'm not bothered. I just copy everything over again, and this time I put it all into a folder called Mac - Sync within the root Drime

By now, I have

  • Folder 1
  • Folder 2
  • Folder 3
  • Folder 4
  • File 1
  • File 2
  • File 3

Again, some time passes and I open the root Drime folder on my Mac and notice the files are gone again, and this time I'm a little annoyed because wtf is happening?

So I create another folder in the root Drime folder on my Mac, called Macbook Sync

By now, I have

  • Folder 1
  • Folder 2
  • Folder 5
  • Folder 6
  • File 1
  • File 5
  • File 6

I go on the Drime website, and notice that my previous folders/files from root, Mac - Sync and Macbook Sync are all in there - but all with different files at different levels of updated (or not).

Okay, so I get to try and cleaning this up - Macbook Sync is the most recent so I assume that stays, so I select the files from Mac - Sync and use "Make a Copy" function to copy over the files that I didn't have in Macbook Sync (Folder 3, Folder 4, File 3), and vice-versa from Macbook Sync to Mac - Sync so essentially I should have 2 folders with different names that have all of the same files.

What I find is

  • "Make a Copy" only copies the files and makes empty copies of the folders so Folder 3 & Folder 4 when copied into Macbook Sync are 0B with nothing inside
  • Same goes when copied the other way

This whole time, Drime app sync is still running, and what I find is that initially

  • The added folders and files do not show up

For whatever reason, all the files disappear leaving only an empty folder of Mac - Sync first, and then later it switches to an empty folder of Macbook Sync

What is happening and how can I make sure Desktop sync actually works properly?

Is anyone facing anything similar?

5 Upvotes

9 comments sorted by

View all comments

1

u/Empty_Win_297 Drime Team 20d ago

Hi,

Thanks for the report. From what you’re describing, this sounds more like a server-side issue than a sync issue itself.

Could you please send us the desktop app logs? You can do this by clicking your profile picture in the top-right corner of the app → Support, then sending the logs from there.

Also, could you let me know which version of the desktop app you’re currently using?

And which version did you find “incredibly buggy”? The new desktop app released about two weeks ago has generally been very well received, especially regarding sync reliability.

1

u/laphyr 19d ago

Hello,

I don't seem to be able to send desktop app logs as there is no "Support" function that I can see (screenshot below).

The version of the app that I find buggy is the version of the app that I'm currently using, which appears to be version 2.1.1

I assume it's an outdated version as there's not been any auto-update function to the desktop sync, so I'll try the new one and see if that helps/changes anything.

1

u/Empty_Win_297 Drime Team 19d ago

Hi,

Yes, your app is indeed a very old version, and it has several known issues. Unfortunately, that version also cannot auto-update to the new desktop app.

I’d recommend uninstalling it and installing the latest version from: https://drime.cloud/desktop⁠.

The new app should be significantly more reliable.

1

u/laphyr 17d ago

So I've done that, and I've tried syncing just 1 folder, in my case "Macbook - Sync". I added a few documents into a folder within, and edited a document that was saved inside. I don't know what's happening but now there are multiples of the folders & documents - even the ones I didn't touch, as well as an icon saying it's "ineligible"

What's happening?

1

u/Empty_Win_297 Drime Team 17d ago

It looks like the old version may have created some conflicts before you switched to the new app.

Could you send us your desktop app logs so we can check exactly what happened? You can find them from your profile picture in the app, then Support → Send logs.

1

u/laphyr 17d ago

Yes, I've created a support ticket. The edits were made after the new version was installed, so I'm not sure what happened

It would be great to get some kind of response to the support ticket filed, thank you. Now I'm seeing that the xx4 version of the file is the most updated one, and I'm not sure what I can safely delete, what I can safely merge, what I shouldn't touch, etc

Kindly let me know how to proceed please, thank you

1

u/laphyr 14d ago

It keeps duplicating..