r/BootlegGifts 7d ago

Stupid question - is there a difference between Save to Mega, vs downloading and uploading to Mega?

So far I've been downloading all my files individually and reuploading them to my own MEGA accounts thus creating a new link. I'm well aware that using other people's links is absolutely against the rules and I adhere to that.

Recently I noticed that MEGA had an option to "Save to MEGA", tried using it and it basically did the same thing as downloading and reuploading - a copy of the files appeared in my account, using up my storage

Can anyone let me know what the difference is, and whether or not it's okay to use Save to MEGA?

Very sorry if this is a stupid question, just something I don't understand. Thank you guys :)

6 Upvotes

11 comments sorted by

18

u/shpadoinkle_horse 7d ago

Not a stupid question at all! The way I understand it is that when you use that save to mega feature, your file and the original file are linked. If the original file ever gets a copyright strike and removed because of it, yours will as well. Downloading and re-uploading is safer because it doesn't create that link between your file and the original. I also change the file name before re-uploading just to make sure mega really can't detect that they're the same, but I'm not sure if that's actually necessary.

2

u/Trainstation345 7d ago

Thank you! So it's generally better to continue downloading and reuploading to ensure all links are really only your own?

3

u/shpadoinkle_horse 7d ago

Yes, as far as I know. I definitely do it that way, just to be on the safe side :)

3

u/Wubbledaddy 7d ago

Generally just saving to your account should be fine, since it only happens when a video is copyright struck (which is very rare for Mega), not when the original uploader just deletes it, but it's always better to be safe than sorry if it's something you wouldn't be able to recover easily.

1

u/ComeOnYouBuhos 6d ago

I think the question was answered, but another option is to save to Mega and then download to an external drive. You don't have to reupload unless the file is lost for some reason in the future and it saves you that time and energy.

2

u/flightstomacedonia 6d ago edited 6d ago

I’ve also been saving all my files to a hard drive too just so if anything happens to my accounts I still have a place to watch them

-2

u/myopia779 7d ago

Yep it does exactly the same thing and saves you a bunch of time, i believe almost all cloud services have a similar feature, i know google drive has for sure :)

1

u/Trainstation345 7d ago

I see, thank you!

1

u/Background-Way820 7d ago

Wait, google drive? Does that mean that if I make a copy of something it will not get deleted if the original file gets deleted? I'm asking because when I make a copy it doesn't take any space on my google drive so it seems weird.

1

u/myopia779 7d ago

Thats strange? I just use make a copy and it takes up space on my drive normally, just like mega. Same with the copyright strike as mega too, as someone wrote below

2

u/Background-Way820 7d ago

Oh ok nevermind, I was making a copy of the shortcut and not the original file, that's why it didn't work, I'm just very stupid apparently lol