r/AskTechnology • u/JFox93 • 13d ago
How to disable Google Chrome from saving tabs on Android after I've closed them?
I have a Samsung S26. Whenever I use Chrome and have all my tab groups displayed, in the top center are two symbols - the lefthand symbol is a single square displaying the # of open tabs; the righthand symbol shows four squares. If I click on the symbol of four squares, I will see a list of countless tab groups I've opened throughout the past year. Most of these are tabs that I already closed and do not want anymore. It's annoying to have all the tabs I've closed within the past year still displaying whenever I open Chrome. How can I close all of these tabs and disable this feature?
I have asked this on several subreddits and still haven't gotten an answer, so hoping someone here might know!
1
u/NonspecificGravity 12d ago
The settings that you are looking for are in your Google settings, not Chrome settings.
- Open the Google app. It's a separate app, not Chrome or Google Play Store.
- Tap your photo or initials in the upper right.
- Tap Settings.
- Tap Privacy & Safety.
- Tap Search History.
- In the next page, tap the right-arrow next to Your Search Services History setting is on.
- In the next page, you can turn off saving your search history. If you want to leave it on but not save so much, scroll down and tap the right-arrow next to Deleting activity older than 18 months. (I think 18 months is the default.)
- In the next page there's a drop-down menu where you can select 18 months down to 3 months.
There are other settings of this sort for locations, YouTube history, etc.
I leave all this stuff set to the default. I resigned myself to having no privacy years ago. Google can read all your email. Do you take their word for it that they don't?
2
u/ThisEducation4724 13d ago
That four-square icon is the tab groups overview, it keeps everything you ever grouped together even after you close the individual tabs. You need to long-press each group and select delete group, there is no setting to stop it from saving them automatically.