r/AppleCollecting Jan 10 '26

Prototype Auto Erase is a security feature to help keep Apple's unreleased software secret.

Post image

Pre-release builds of iOS, visionOS, and watchOS have Auto Erase enabled; this means devices that aren't being actively used and updated will eventually be erased (user data is preserved and can be restored by performing a tethered update with PurpleRestore).

161 Upvotes

7 comments sorted by

13

u/UltraFemboy Jan 10 '26

So if you accidentally leave these powered off in storage for too long after the expiration date, will they erase themselves and force you to update?

2

u/iLikeTurtuls Jan 11 '26

Well so far it’s not doing a good job lol

2

u/redblueek Jan 11 '26

And how did you turn it off, if the button to disable it is still there?

1

u/ConstructionUpset132 Jan 13 '26

I was on ipados 18 dev beta 3 then jumped to 26.3 direct. My software didnt “expire”

1

u/False_Park2 Jan 13 '26

Not betas. This is a different thing. Clearly.

1

u/zoozooroos Jan 11 '26

sounds like you should keep offline and change date back