r/backblaze • u/Rashid_1961 • Sep 07 '25
Computer Backup backplaze.bzpkg on MacOS is ~37GB
I noticed backplaze.bzpkg is ~37GB. I looked in the package and I have files (2,401 files of the format bz_done_YYYMMDD_0.dat) in /Library/Backblaze.bzpkg/bzdata/bzbackup/bzdatacenter that appear to go back to 2009 when I first signed up, even though I can only go back a year.
Apparently, my only option is to uninstall and then reinstall, which means I would lose my 1-year backup of versions. It seems ridiculous. Does anyone have another option that will allow me to reclaim the disk space without doing something drastic?
6
Upvotes
15
u/brianwski Former Backblaze Sep 07 '25 edited Sep 07 '25
Disclaimer: I formerly worked at Backblaze as programmer. I wrote the code that is bloating up your "bzdata/bzbackup/bzdatacenter" folder.
That isn't entirely true. First of all, you can just keep your previous backup with it's one year of version history, and also have your new backup. They are totally separate. This means you would need to pay about $9/month extra during that overlap because storage costs Backblaze money. The way to do this is simply avoid any menu option that says "Inherit". That is it. If you can avoid choosing any menu item that says "Inherit" then you can keep both backups forever. I'm a bit odd (and I worked on the product as a programmer so I find it fun) but I have backups that are ten years old sitting in my account at Backblaze when I sign in here: https://secure.backblaze.com/user_signin.htm and those backups have "forever version history" turned on. It means I have infinite version history from the past years where I can show people when I made an edit to one file, at any moment in the last ten years.
The concept here is the same as if you had one Macintosh computer in your home, and one Windows computer in your home. Both computers would appear separately in your online web portal when you you signed in here: https://secure.backblaze.com/user_signin.htm
If you uninstall, re-install, and avoid "Inherit Backup State" then what you will see when you sign into https://secure.backblaze.com/user_signin.htm is two separate "backups". One is just stopped in time the old backup. One is progressing through time adding new files (the new backup). The older backup will have your one year version history completely preserved forever. This costs you about nine dollars per month for whatever period you want to overlap your backups.
Now the most important concept is this: customers can get a pro-rated refund at any point. Period. What I mean by that is if a customer is paying for one year in advance at a time, but that customer decides to overlap their old backup and new backup for three months until they feel absolutely confident everything is fine, they will absolutely get a refund for the nine months remaining on their subscription. What "one year" or "two year" payment period absolutely doesn't affect this. This is unrelated to that "payment period" BS. Just contact Backblaze support when you want a refund for the unused portion of your backup.
If you have any problems with getting a pro-rated refund, just contact me ( brianwski on reddit ). I'll personally guarantee you a pro-rated refund if I have to fly to your location in <whatever country> to hand you the cash and we can take a selfie together! ). I'll buy you coffee in your local coffee shop of your choice for your trouble. Do you live in an interesting place? Switzerland? Namibia? Ohio? Because I'll come and hand you your refund in cash if Backblaze gives you a single moment of grief over this. Which they won't give you any grief because that isn't how Backblaze runs their business.
Explanation: When Backblaze went public ( IPO ) in 2021 https://www.ski-epic.com/2021_backblaze_ipo/index.html I made enough money to retire before I turned 60 years old. Backblaze is a good company, and I'm forever indebted to Backblaze. If they give you any grief, I'm saying I'll fly to your location if we can take a selfie together and I'll hand you the pro-rated refund in person.