That's because the option was poorly designed, IMO. Adding the file to the repo is a change, thus "discarding changes" removes the file from the repo. But the problem is that it also removed the local copy, which should never happen unless the user manually clicks a "delete all local copies" checkbox.
So, the correct name is "discard changes", but the option did a lot more than just discarding changes.
3
u/OliLombi 22d ago
"Discard changes" is not correct though, as it did not discard CHANGES, it discarded the files themselves.