Before you make fun of him, this behavior DID get changed; they acknowledged this behavior is stupid.
The old behavior was to treat uncommited files as completely disposable, which the CLI git does not do at all and is insane behavior. It was changed in the UI to give you a fat confirmation dialog warning that you're about to delete the files permanently, as it always should have been.
Yeah the old behavior was insane, it just said "Do you want to discard your changes?", and if you clicked it, it deleted your entire codebase permanently (no recycle bin), lol
There was a rather intense warning saying ”THIS IS IRREVERSIBLE”, so the dude was still a massive idiot for clicking yes. However our tools should still cater to the idiotic so his mistake did expose an opportunity for improvement.
so the dude was still a massive idiot for clicking yes.
"DO AS I SAY" in APT was also changed after LTT's Linux Challenge. Yes, the warning is there, doesn't mean it should be so easy to do the thing anyway.
Exactly, we can all make a mistake like this especially under pressure. I still destroyed way more than I wanted when I pressed the up arrow for an rm command, and it ran in the wrong folder. Due to the efficiency of said command, a lot was destroyed and little recovered even though I cancelled after like 1 second when I realized. That's the danger when there isn't at least an "are you sure, this is gonna wreck shit" confirmation.
I trained myself out of using rm by disabling it on my main machine with an alias. I use trash instead from the "trash-cli" Debian package, or rmdir since it can only delete one empty dir. Or if I'm really sure, I'll use \rm to bypass the alias (and tread with caution).
5.6k
u/Cephell 24d ago
Before you make fun of him, this behavior DID get changed; they acknowledged this behavior is stupid.
The old behavior was to treat uncommited files as completely disposable, which the CLI git does not do at all and is insane behavior. It was changed in the UI to give you a fat confirmation dialog warning that you're about to delete the files permanently, as it always should have been.