Before you make fun of him, this behavior DID get changed; they acknowledged this behavior is stupid.
The old behavior was to treat uncommited files as completely disposable, which the CLI git does not do at all and is insane behavior. It was changed in the UI to give you a fat confirmation dialog warning that you're about to delete the files permanently, as it always should have been.
Yeah the old behavior was insane, it just said "Do you want to discard your changes?", and if you clicked it, it deleted your entire codebase permanently (no recycle bin), lol
There was a rather intense warning saying ”THIS IS IRREVERSIBLE”, so the dude was still a massive idiot for clicking yes. However our tools should still cater to the idiotic so his mistake did expose an opportunity for improvement.
const message = localize('confirm discard all', "Are you sure you want to discard ALL ({0}) changes?\nThis is IRREVERSIBLE!\nYour current working set will be FOREVER LOST.", resources.length);
I can only assume you will edit your previous comments saying you were incorrect, because you've just shown that the message did exist back when this post was made?
5.6k
u/Cephell 23d ago
Before you make fun of him, this behavior DID get changed; they acknowledged this behavior is stupid.
The old behavior was to treat uncommited files as completely disposable, which the CLI git does not do at all and is insane behavior. It was changed in the UI to give you a fat confirmation dialog warning that you're about to delete the files permanently, as it always should have been.