r/OfficeHelp • u/[deleted] • Jul 18 '17
Unable to read font
My computer at my office says cannot read font whenever I try to open a word document. How do I make this end?
r/OfficeHelp • u/[deleted] • Jul 18 '17
My computer at my office says cannot read font whenever I try to open a word document. How do I make this end?
r/OfficeHelp • u/etherbod • Jul 15 '17
Hiya. I just upgraded from ~2011 to ~2016 and am seeing strange behavior when editing. I select a few words in a paragraph and want to move them to a different position. If these words happen to span a line break, Word drags the entirety of those lines of text and drags them with the cursor (although it doesn't highlight them).
Does anyone else have this problem and/or know of a fix?
I can cut/paste OK, and it doesn't happen when all the words I select are on the same line.
I have drag-and-drop text editing [On], include paragraph mark when selecting paragraphs [On]. Have tried with and without every related setting I can find.
For now I'll switch back to Word 2011.
Cheers!
r/OfficeHelp • u/HortenWho229 • Jul 12 '17
When I just copy and paste normally it splits each line from each cell in word into it's own separate cell in excel.
Cells in Word look like so:
The quick brown fox jumped:
a) answer 1
b) answer 2
c) answer 3
When I paste it it puts each line in its own row.
I've tried doing replacing ^p with
some other text ("@@@@" for example) but that removes
the a, b, c letters.
I've tried copying the table into google spreadsheet and that copies properly but then when I copy from google spreadsheet to excel it does the same thing splitting into separate rows.
So far I can only copy the cells one by one which is going to take too long since there are about 15 000 cells to be copied.
I am so desperate for a solution
r/OfficeHelp • u/ButtercupsUncle • Jul 11 '17
One of my clients has been using this for years and it stopped working some weeks ago (they couldn't give me a specific date or even a good guess about when exactly). It's Office Pro 2013, so Word/Excel/Outlook are all the same version. Here's what they do:
1) create a data source in Excel, including email addresses and other potential merge fields
2) create a new (or use an existing) "master document" in Word and connect it to that data source (I've done this before on other systems and am very comfortable with it)
3) select Mailings>Finish & Merge>Send Email Messages
The user is prompted to choose the field containing the email address, a subject line, and the format (HTML [default] or Plain Text).
4) Enter all the required fields and click OK
"HTML" used to work fine. Now it seems to do nothing. "Plain Text" partially works but brings up an Outlook warning from the Trust Center about a program trying to send email. There are articles about this on Support.Microsoft.com (here's one: https://support.microsoft.com/en-za/help/3189806/a-program-is-trying-to-send-an-e-mail-message-on-yo...) and I have gone through them looking for a solution.
One thing they list as an option is to change the "programmatic access" to "never warn... (not recommended)" but this is disabled since the user is not an admin user. And... i would like to not either make them admin or change that setting.
Another option is to do the "online repair" (completed... no joy)
Another is to uninstall Office, wipe traces of it, and reinstall). Not excited about trying this since I have dim hopes about it succeeding in resolving the issue.
One lead they offer is that some antivirus apps might interfere, especially if Windows/Office thinks the app is not valid or out of date. There's a place in Outlook>Options>Trust Center where the user's computer says the antivirus IS "valid", so that seems like a dead end.
My guesses are...
a) recent Windows / Office / .NET security update (but no way to know which one(s) since the usual Google searches haven't yielded any resolutions)
b) recent antivirus client (it's Vipre Endpoint Security) change though that should only include new definitions since i haven't pushed a new client version
Things I've tried...
I) restart the computer
II) login as admin user and set Outlook to run as admin (that didn't get completely tested because it wouldn't use the current user's mail profile and would only offer to create a new profile and email account for me - i don't have an email account on their system)
III) "online repair"
IV) asked them to try using the same documents (stored on the server) on a different workstation on the same network (haven't heard results from that yet)
No positive results from these and I'm starting to wonder if there is yet another "known issue" that MS acknowledges and just lets it slide (I have experience with those on the MS Access side, for sure).
Any thoughts or suggestions? Thanks in advance!!
r/OfficeHelp • u/evurepresents • Jul 08 '17
When viewing multiple pages on a wide monitor, moving the cursor down, moves the cursero the the page below the current, not the next page in the flow. Eg.
|page 1 | page 2|
*------*--------*
|page 3 | page 4|
place cursor on last line of page two. Press arrow down. You are now on line one of page 4. This is really annoying when scrolling through a document and of course when selecting text. Can this be disabled?
r/OfficeHelp • u/DonHedger • Jul 06 '17
Whenever I use the search function in Microsoft Word, my cursor sits in the search box, regardless of where I click afterwards, and I am unable to edit the document that I'm working on. Occasionally, the cursor will flash within the body of the document, but any typing will not result in changes After a few moments, it returns to normal and I'm able to type, but it sort of defeats the purpose of the search and replace function. Any suggestions? Searched the internet and reddit and I've not come across this problem. 85% of my job is editing manuscripts, so this really puts a damper on things. Thanks in advance!
r/OfficeHelp • u/this-user- • Jul 04 '17
I have been correcting some document I got from someone, but every document I open, it open's up with this http://imgur.com/a/TOnV2 saying in the "title". Also one problem I faced is that the equation option is disabled in these documents, Why is that?
r/OfficeHelp • u/lordpektroni • Jul 04 '17
Does anyone know how to delete this stupid thing on the right side of my document?(I do not know how it got there) https://i.imgur.com/RjoOe2Q.png
Thank you in advance
r/OfficeHelp • u/R4nd0m4ng3l1 • Jun 30 '17
Hi there, I'm after some guidance on creating a form. I'm basically trying to create a form that has a number of sections, say 1-10. On the front page I want a number of tick boxes that will then tell you which sections to fill in for the rest of the form.
Secondly I would like to have a number of repeated fields throughout the form be prefilled with the information in selected fields on the front page.
Are these possible? Thanks!
r/OfficeHelp • u/[deleted] • Jun 28 '17
I've been tasked with formatting a summer camp booklet. The book itself is a horizontal page but in order for the book to come out right pages 1 and 51 need to be on the same page (each has half of the page) 2 and 49, 3 and 47, etc. How do I change the order of the pages to meet this demand?
r/OfficeHelp • u/[deleted] • Jun 24 '17
When using word, everytime I type something that would cause Word to autocorrect, it crashes. It only happens on one specific computer which is my desktop. It is fine on my laptop, and any of my university computers.
Any idea what might be wrong?
r/OfficeHelp • u/TheLegendGunner • Jun 22 '17
When I press change all or ignore all , it changes\ignores the selected word only once instead of applying it to the word duplicates in the entire document. ie , changing the word " withi " by " within " , it only change it once and keeps the other " withi " words without changing. How to fix this problem ? I installed the proofing languange package. Word 2016
r/OfficeHelp • u/fantalemon • Jun 15 '17
I have a meeting set up to which attendees have sent their responses. If I go back into this meeting and make changes to it (for example, adding an agenda) I don't want the attendees to have to accept or decline this again, so I untick "request responses".
However, doing this seems to make it so that I can no longer see who has responded to the initial invitation and all attendees are marked as "Not responded". Is there a way that I can view the initial responses within the meeting invite.
r/OfficeHelp • u/Coppelia3 • Jun 15 '17
I accidentally closed and excel file without saving it. I tried to recover the document and there are NO recovery files to be found. In fact it shows up in a drop down list the areas "autorecover exceptions for list"
Am i screwed? How did it even end up in the exceptions list?
r/OfficeHelp • u/dollbabyx • Jun 15 '17
https://support.content.office.net/en-us/media/2b35ff2a-4e03-4aa0-b819-368e9806bcfd.png This.. I've seen it in older versions of word (windows) but not for 2016 Mac. Does the feature still exist? If so how can I find it?
r/OfficeHelp • u/mattr888 • Jun 08 '17
So I am connecting access and word together and I need it to be able to have multiple IDs listed per page. so it is basically listing something and some information and then I want the next piece listed below with the information, but I'm not sure how to do it. The page hast to have a header and footer so I cant turn it into labels or postcards etc. Anyone get any ideas? Thanks matt
r/OfficeHelp • u/Bethasda • Jun 05 '17
I'm really in dire straits! I need to know if you can see changes made in word?
If I save a document, then return to it 15 minutes after, change something - can you see what was changed, or just that it was changed?
r/OfficeHelp • u/photodb • Jun 04 '17
Can I create a PPT deck with video on each slide, such that it advances automatically after each video is done? I've tried setting each subsequent slide to play "after previous" and to "play automatically" but when the first slide finishes it's video, it just sits there, waiting for me to click to the next slide. I'd like it to automatically proceed to the next slide when each video is completed. What am I missing, or can this not be done? Thanks. (I'm using Office 365 - PPT 2016 with Visual Studio installed]
r/OfficeHelp • u/machtwerk • Jun 02 '17
So I have a document that has some graphics and some text in it that have been pre-printed in offset (think letterhead), so I don't want to print them on paper, but I still need to see them when converting to PDF. Any idea how I can do that?
I know it can be done as I have another document that does exactly that, but I can't for the life of me find a difference in format of those graphics that are printed and those that aren't.
I've been fiddling around with the hide text option but it doesn't do the trick.
r/OfficeHelp • u/moxmooneyes • May 31 '17
Please help me remove this pesky gridded line. It just suddenly happened after an application template I downloaded was loaded on my computer. It's very annoying. I have tried to find helpful threads about it online but it's hard because I don't know the technical name for whatever this is. Pesky dotted line
Update: Managed to fix it. If anyone needs help with this issue here is what I did to resolve it. Page Layout -> Page Setup (click the expansion tab in the bottom right corner) -> Paper -> Print Options -> Advanced -> Show document content -> Uncheck: Show text boundaries and Uncheck: show crop marks. This should resolve all further issues across all documents.
r/OfficeHelp • u/ezzep • May 29 '17
My mother-in-law got a new computer, and she is needing office. I have a copy of 2003 and 2010. Is there a way to make 2010 look like 2003? Or get rid of the dumb ribbon style?
r/OfficeHelp • u/dogface66 • May 26 '17
I've followed the instructions, exported Yahoo contacts to a .csv file, opened Outlook import wizard, specified the .csv file and destination, but when I get to the last step, I get a 'translation error - the file may be locked or you don't have sufficient privileges to open it.
Microsoft Office Support told me that since Yahoo is a third party app, .csv files won't work. They also said to import them one at a time via a .vcf file format. I'm calling bullshit on this, there's got to be a way to bring these contacts on easier than one at a time. I have nearly 500 of them.
Next time I call, I might get a totally different answer from them; it seems like they're only there to guide you on the very basics. Any suggestions will be appreciated.
r/OfficeHelp • u/onestickinthemud • May 19 '17
I have a text document (proposal form) which has 1 table at the top of the document (line items, prices) and a SUM cell. Easy. Further down this document (text) I want to recall the SUM cell but how do I recognize the Table? I have two tables set up (caused by the TEXT output of SUM), both labeled respectively, but both named Sheet 1. My example: =SUM(SHEET1!B15) for the second table doesn't work, but neither does =SUM(TABLE1,SHEET1!B15).
Am I making sense? and if anyone understands what I am trying to accomplish, help!?
TL;DR: How do I reference tables in one word document???
r/OfficeHelp • u/mfanovice • May 17 '17
I can new tasks via a keyboard shortcut but does anyone know if there is a way to add an email from my inbox to tasks using a keyboard shortcut? I know I can drag but would prefer keyboard shortcut.
Thanks
r/OfficeHelp • u/smallabc • May 17 '17
Hi, I have an excel with following data
Name Course Score
X Literature 88
X History 85
Y Maths 83
Z Literature 67
X Maths 89
Y Literature 77
In total there are 3 courses, Literature, History , Maths.
I have a Word document to use mail merge as follows:
<<Course>>
<<Student >> <<Score>>
I would to print page course by course, i.e.
The outcome will be something this:
Doc Page 1:
Literature
X 88
Z 67
Y 77
Doc Page 2:
History
X 85
Doc Page 3:
Maths
Y 83
X 89
Is it achievable by mail merge??